I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

it’s the little things

on December 23, 2016

img_3917

it’s the little things 

reminding me- 

Emmanuel

He’s here with me 

The girls are maturing by the day, and I can hardly keep up with their changing likes and dislikes.  In fact, just yesterday I lamented that this is the first year neither of them asked for a single American Girl doll accessory  or”toy” for Christmas.

  Gone are those special moments when they would crawl into Santa’s lap and take sweet pictures.  And much to my chagrin- gone are the days of fighting those crowded toy store lines trying to get them the hottest toys of the season.  (that I DON’T miss!!)

As I got into my van yesterday morning I was feeling a little melancholy thinking of how much they have grown, and a part of me longed to hear their giddy little girl giggles.

But then I looked up, and I saw my windows were covered in frost from the previous chilly night. The frost glistened in the sunlight and I saw a cross- clear as day- a “frosty” cross, I’ll call it 🙂

img_3918

And He reminded me again what the real meaning of CHRISTmas is all about.

There is no giggle, no toy, no present under the tree that could ever compare to the joy He has already given me.  And the longing in my heart will only ever be satisfied by more of Him.  

In the simplest of ways He shows me that He is here.

She will give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel, which means ‘God is with us.'”  Matthew 1:23

2 responses to “it’s the little things

  1. realchange4u says:

    You are so in love with Jesus Julie. You see him everywhere. This is how I am also. Everything to me is look what Jesus did. Merry Christmas to you and your family and a very joyful new year.

    Blessings Tom

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Merry Christmas to you, too, Tom!! I am a “work in progress” and far from perfect, but I am so thankful for God’s mercy and His grace…my life would be meaningless without Him! Praying for the Lord’s blessings on you and your family this New Year’s!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

