I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Brick by Brick

on December 16, 2016

What do you think of me?
Wonder what do you see?
When I open up and let you in.
Fearing what you might say.
Afraid you’ll run away
If I open up and let you in
So brick by brick I build up walls
Till I cannot see at all
Take those walls and tear them down
every wall I’ve build around
me
Take those walls and tear them down
tear them down
let those walls come tumbling down
let those walls come tumbling down
Feeling like I can’t breathe
Thoughts like a movie screen
They’re paralyzing me
And I wish I could make it stop
I wish I could turn it off
Jesus is the only thing saving me
‘Cause brick by brick I build up walls
Till I cannot see at all

This is a song I wrote recently about praying for Jesus to help me STOP those anxious thoughts that run through my head.  When I was a kid, I was always worried about what other people thought of me. I was so afraid that people wouldn’t accept me that I didn’t even try to make friends.  It was easier to build up walls around myself than it was to be “me” and allow people into my life.

And even as an adult, I still struggle with wanting to put up walls to protect myself- because sometimes letting people “in” is scary. But it is so worth it!

I am so thankful for the many friends He has brought into my life.

He continually helps me to put my hope and trust in Him and in no other person- because people WILL let you down!  He is helping me love everyone-

even those…

who don’t like the Christmas movie Elf (gasp!!)

who don’t like dogs 

who voted differently than I did in the presidential election

who don’t look or think the same way I do 

who don’t share my interests 

even those who don’t love me back

And by His grace, He can help us see each other- and even ourselves– through His eyes.   Loving other people doesn’t mean we won’t be hurt at times, but that is what He calls us to do. And that all begins with letting Jesus into our hearts and allowing Him to tear down those walls we create to separate us.

Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love. In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.

John 4:7-11

630792

8 responses to “Brick by Brick

  1. realchange4u says:

    So much truth here Julie.I am glad you don’t allow those walks anymore. now the world sees what God sees.A beautiful creation, manifesting Jesus. I loved every word of this post. This is me and a lot more folks of we allow as Paul says. I day let Jesus out and choose to love.

    Much love Tom

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks, Tom 🙂 At times I do still put up walls to protect myself… but quicker now to recognize it and to give it to the Lord. I love your last statement- “I let Jesus out and choose to love.”… it’s hard to love others if I put up walls between myself and the outside world 🙂 I hope you have a very Merry Christmas!!! Many blessings to you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lorriebowden says:

    Ummmm! Sending you loving and warm thoughts for you and your family…may this Christmas be one filled with unconditional love ❤

    Like

  3. Barton Jahn says:

    Beautiful song…nice voice…keep writing…good stuff!

    Like

Leave a Reply

