A baker’s dozen

Image

My oldest just turned 13.  I can hardly STAND it! A teenager *gasp*!!

I remember turning 13 like it was yesterday.

I was painfully shy and tall.  I wanted more than anything to hide from everyone and fade into the background.  But as I navigated those awkward years, I learned to stand tall.

IMG_0983

My oldest- hiding from me a she tries out her new bike. 

I see so much of myself in my oldest daughter. As soon as she sees a camera- she runs, turns her head, and does anything she can to hide her lovely face.

IMG_4272

Like her last band concert…I chuckled as I watched her slowly move the music stand with her foot until it blocked me from seeing her face as I sat in the audience.

IMG_2042

I don’t know exactly when it happened, but I eventually found my “voice” and I stopped hiding. Singing in chorus was the one thing that gave me the confidence to be myself.  It was a place where I found community, friendship, and a group of peers that finally accepted me.  It was the first place where I wasn’t afraid to shine.

No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house.
  Matthew 5:15

As a mom, it’s my job to stand tall and to help my girls find the things that they are good at!  It’s my job to encourage them and to help them be more self-confident- so they can find their unique “voice” and shine bright in this world.

And on those days when I am feeling less than confident, I know I can run straight into the arms of my Heavenly Father, for in my weakness He is strong!

FullSizeRender

My oldest… resting on her Daddy’s shoulders 🙂 

And when my girls need a little pep-talk,  I pray that God will equip me and give me the right words to point them to the Son-the ultimate source of my strength and light!

Keep me as the apple of the eye;

Hide me in the shadow of Your wings – Psalm 17:8

5 thoughts on “A baker’s dozen

  1. Nice post. I hear you my oldest of four is now a teenager too. I pray everyday God will help me stay connected to him and see his needs. Parenting is not for the faint of heart. Phil 4:13 we can do it with His strength ever day . God bless and keep pressing on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words 🙂 And yes, I agree that parenting is not for the faint of heart!! It’s so important to stay close to the Lord and follow His lead in every area of our lives- in hopes that our children will grow up to do the same. Many blessings to you and your family!!

      Like

  2. Happy birthday to your lovely daughter! 13 is a challenge! But for me those years between 12 and 15 were the most magical years of my life! Everything was new and exciting! Every morning felt like a wonderful surprise, filled with little presents of opportunities and new discoveries to open! 💖😊💖😊. So tell her to enjoy those moments of newness, they will never be the same again. 💖😊

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: A baker’s dozen | Journey With Jesus

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.