only love

 

I catch myself 

over and over again 

holding on to my anger, my judgement, 

my sin 

keeping score, putting up a fight 

but I’m desperately trying to do what’s right 

so take it all till all that’s left 

is only love 

only love 

take it all till all that’s left

is only love 

only love 

love keeps no records of wrongs- 

so You say 

but the pain is so strong

sometimes I pray 

for the memories to fade away 

until all thats left 

is love 

sometimes I look in the mirror 

and I see

my old self staring back at me  

so unworthy 

but how can I begin 

to love someone else 

if I can’t even love myself?

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  

1 Corinthians 13

I wrote this song recently as I thought about what it means to really love unconditionally.  I am as guilty as anyone for hanging onto the past and allowing it to color the way I see people.  It is so hard to let go of past hurts and rejections- and even harder to truly love someone unconditionally when we still harbor those feelings.

My prayer is for Him to help me continue to let go and to see others- including myself– the way He sees us.

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  Romans 5:8

IMG_0715

 

 

9 thoughts on “only love

  1. You know Julie it was only after the death of my only daughter Kelly that ,I have been in position to see that through growing into fullness in Christ is there true forgiveness and freedom from pass hurts and sins. I seek daily to grow and be transformed into his image that Her would be manifested through me. Your writing struck a chord with me. I had wasted so many years in my eyes. Little did I know that through all my failures and short comings God was shaping me. He is not done yet. I pray I will be more easily molded in the future. Stay the course and be encouraged. God sees you and love’s you very much.

    Blessings to you Julie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow… I have been chewing on your words for a couple of days. I cannot imagine the pain you and your wife have gone through in losing your daughter. Your words, your life, your blog are a living testimony to God’s amazing grace. I can only imagine how difficult this past weekend was (with it being Mother’s Day). I always think about those parents who have lost a child, or those who were never able to have children- especially on Mother’s/Father’s Day… one of my favorite worship songs is “Blessed Be Your Name”. Even though we didn’t sing this at church yesterday, I sang this line in my heart all day long- “You give and take away, You give and take away. My heart will choose to say- Blessed be Your Name.” God bless you, my friend 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: only love | Journey With Jesus

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and for your kind words 🙂 I think those things are something we all struggle with at some time or another! I have to intentionally lay down these struggles daily to the Lord. Praying for God’s peace for you today 🙂 Blessings to you!!

      Like

      • Hi Julie! Yes, daily I lay them down–but I so wish I could just be done with it all, be more saintly 🙂 I’ve realized though, that if I had it all together I wouldn’t need the Lord–and that wouldn’t be good. Whatever brings us closer to Him, is good–even if it doesn’t seem very admirable at the moment. Praying for you today, as well–the blessings of His unmerited Favor 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.