I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Shedding Light

on September 22, 2014

photo

pondering the path we walk

often times it seems quite dark

but even so, steadfast He keeps

shedding light as footsteps sweep

even when we cannot see

the pathway laid before our feet

Rest assured, steadfast He keeps 

shedding light as footsteps sweep

Shadows fall, disguising day

how quickly they lead us astray

but even so, steadfast He keeps

shedding light as footsteps sweep 

When we keep Him in our sight

his presence keeps away the night

and all the while steadfast He keeps

shedding light as footsteps sweep

Our family had a wonderful weekend together.  We did something we had never done before- we took a walk on the Monticello Trail.  The main trail is almost 4 miles up and back, and the girls have come here many times-but this was the first time we all finished it together.  My husband and I kept telling the girls we had to make it all the way to the bridge, and then we could turn around.

“Can’t we just turn around here?” my youngest begged several times.

“No- we’re almost there! You’ll know when you see the bridge.”

I kept telling them we would be in sight of the bridge soon.

I led the pack, followed my my youngest girl, then her older sister behind her, and my husband was the caboose.  It worked quite well.  I set the pace, and challenged my youngest to keep up with me.  I offered her many praises along the way- telling her how proud I was of her.  And sure enough, we eventually made it to the bridge, touched it, and then turned to go back.

Sometimes along our journey, our “goals” aren’t always so tangible.  Looking for the bridge kept us all focused as we walked. What a relief it was to finally see it as we neared the half-way point!  We told the girls it was all down-hill from here- literally– so it would be a much easier trek back.

On the way home from our hike, I confessed to my husband that I seemed to have lost sight of some of my goals. Often times my own shadows hide the light He is shedding on my path.  My biggest problem is me.  Focusing too much on myself.  A smaller number on a scale, a better car, or a newer iPhone aren’t going to get me very far on this walk with Christ.

And as my family walked the trail, I saw us building one another up and walking as a team. My heart longed for nothing more than spending more time together. Not more things, not more time alone… more time in relationship with the ones I love- and with my Heavenly Father.  Forget “me” time. I need more “knee” time- spent with Him in prayer, and more “we” time with the wonderful family He has blessed me with!

 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:6

23 responses to “Shedding Light

  1. Great post, Julie. We all have the same struggles. He is working in us because we recognize these areas. What a great and life-long work God has for His people. My, the patience He has. I’m thankful for that!! 😀

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks for your encouragement! He has the most loving, gentle way of pointing out the areas in our lives that need refining. I, too, am so thankful for His limitless patience~ and for His gentle “whispers”! Blessings to you!

      Like

  2. Sounds like a great event, I’d say. I went for a run yesterday!

    Like

  3. paulfg says:

    You have a way of writing pictures that allow me a greater clarity/connection with me and Him:
    “Often times my own shadows hide the light He is shedding on my path.”
    Thank you.

    Like

  4. Skye says:

    What a beautiful and timely post for me to read. We were just at Monticello, too. It is so lovely there!! Hugs & Love!!! Skye

    Like

  5. t h i n g s + f l e s h says:

    thank you for this. you’re a lovely writer. tony

    Like

  6. lorriebowden says:

    Thanks Julie! I can see the whole family trudging up the hill together. Wonderful post…and just love the Proverb at the end….I just copied it to remind myself now when I need to turn a few things over to Him! ❤ ❤

    Like

  7. Kev says:

    Sounds like you had a great time Julie. We all lose sight of things from time to time. I wouldn’t worry too much about it. It’s perfectly natural and as long as you notice it and try to amend things, all will be well. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

