I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

We all need a little help sometimes

on May 7, 2014

Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them.   Matthew 6:26

It’s the little things that make me happy!   In a previous post , I shared how I found a bird’s nest on my front door.  My girls and I have been anxiously waiting for these little guys to hatch!  We peeked into the nest every day to see how these jelly-bean sized eggs were doing…

Image And then last week it happened….

Image

I looked into the nest just as they were coming out of their shells!

I peeked a little while later, and they were soundly sleeping…

Image

and then the last one finally made his way out…

Image

And they all snuggled together…

Image

Yesterday, in the wee hours of the morning, I awoke to a loud noise.  Thinking it was coming from my children’s room, I quickly went in and checked on them.  Everything seemed fine, so I went back to sleep.  When I got up to begin the morning routine, I glanced outside my front door to check on the bird’s nest.  Much to my dismay, I found the basket’s ribbon had come undone from the door, and the entire basket had fallen down onto the porch.  I looked at those tiny baby birds scattered on the porch, and didn’t know what to do.  I feared the worst. I got the girls out of bed and told them about the nest.  We looked outside and my oldest said “Mom,  one of them is moving!”  Sure enough, they were moving their little beaks ever so slowly.  A friend came over and helped me get them all back into the nest, and  fortunately- they all seemed to be ok. I prayed that their momma would come back and take care of them.  Before I knew it, I heard rustling on my front door!  Momma was back and I don’t think she has left their side.

My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.  Psalm 121:2

I have a little bit of “momma bird” in me, too-  I like to think that I have everything under control.  We can build a happy home, plan and prepare for the day’s events, but sometimes our baskets get too heavy – and they come crashing down.  There was no way momma bird could have gotten those babies back into the nest without our help.  When my girls were babies I often felt overwhelmed.  It was hard for me to ask for help when I needed it.  Several years ago, I remember praying for God to help me.  My babysitter was sick and I had piano students coming to the house later that day. I didn’t know how it was going to work out- but I had peace in heart. My first student of the day happily babysat for me that afternoon. This was one of the first times I realized that God places special people in our paths to help us. I wouldn’t be half the momma I am without all the wonderful friends and family He has placed in my life!  It takes a village- and just like momma bird- we all need a little help sometimes!

God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble.  Psalm 46:1

Lord, thank You for the sweet reminder to call on You, my Helper, for all things- no matter how big or small.  Thank you for Your faithfulness, and for allowing me to catch a glimpse of  Your magnificent creation!  You are, indeed, a Wonderful Maker!

19 responses to “We all need a little help sometimes

  1. vwoods1212 says:

    Oh gosh, you scared me. I thought they had died. They look so fragile and is at this stage in life. Know you will take good care of them. God bless. vw

    Like

  2. paulfg says:

    Oh wow! So many buttons going zingaling! So much truth. What a banquet of love this is! Thank you.

    Like

  3. Neat post. I’m doing a study of Jesus words for us to study the birds. My first post was yesterday. I’ll have 9-10 more. I’ve really enjoyed doing them. Good job!!!

    Like

  4. lorriebowden says:

    Julie I love this post!!! You saved those beautiful little babies, and spoke the truth about how we all need help sometimes. I really wonder why it is so hard for some to ask? Most people, I think, are more than willing to help… just like you and your girls! Your photos are awesome too 🙂

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      I used to feel like a failure when I couldn’t do something on my own- or when I needed help. We want to be independent- but He wants complete dependence on Him! Now I see it as God’s blessing when He sends others to help me! Thank you for your sweet comments! Blessings to you 🙂

      Like

  5. That’s awesome you could get them back in and all’s fine.

    Like

  6. Skye says:

    Awesome post! The Lord truly is caring for every detail of His creation, always. Thank you, Julie…once again, my children and I gathered around to experience your post together. You are a blessing! Hugs!

    Like

  7. "light and salt" says:

    Thank you so much for your visit and comments yesterday! I came here to have a look at your site and love the post/pics above!

    Please visit anytime, Julie…

    Steve Pejay

    Like

  8. osarobohenry says:

    Thank you for your visit to my blog and for the like. May you become a great blessing to your generation in the name of Jesus Christ.

    Like

Leave a Reply

