I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Be careful what you wish for

on May 12, 2014

photo

Be careful what you wish for

’cause you just may realize

the very thing that you desire

may be your slow demise

Silence can be golden

But when found, I quickly see

the thing I truly long for

is fellowship with family

My husband asked me after church what I’d like to do with the rest of our day.. Mother’s Day.  Honestly, I didn’t want to do anything.  He had been away for a week with work, had just returned that morning, and I was simply relieved that he was home.

“My plan is to have no plan!”  I told him.

I have found through the years that having a “plan” often leads to disappointment.  Because when you have a “plan”, there’s always a chance for it to change.  And then our “plans” don’t always live up to our expectations. So, to avoid disappointment, I like to throw caution to the wind and leave all the big plans to the Big Man upstairs- and then to my husband for the other things.

So after lunch in town we headed home.

“What would you really like to do today?”  my husband asks me.

And the first thing I thought of was walking the Monticello Trail- a beautiful (almost) 4 mile hike near the historic home of Thomas Jefferson.

“Well, you know the kids won’t want to do that!”  He says as he smiles.  “Why don’t you just go by yourself?”

And that’s what I did.

I find myself longing for quiet.  That is always the first thing that comes to mind when asked what I would like to do- anything that gives me peace and quiet.  It doesn’t really matter what it is- I want to be alone with my thoughts so I can think.  Sometimes the noises of life take over my brain and I can’t seem to quiet them long enough to have a complete thought.

So I got myself ready and drove to the trail.  The sky was brilliant blue, and the weather perfect.  As I walked, I saw young mommas with babies… older mommas with their big kids… husbands and wives holding hands as they strolled along…families laying on blankets reading books, throwing frisbees… it seemed that everyone I saw was with their loved ones.

And here I was, FINALLY alone… with my thoughts…

And all I could think about was my family- spending the previous day with my mom and granny. We didn’t do anything special- but we were together.

And I remembered all the times I brought the girls as babies to this very trail… and huffed and puffed as I pushed one in a stroller and carried the other in a backpack. It was tough, but the accomplishment was amazing!  We were making memories.

I remembered one of the early dates my husband and I had when we went to Williamsburg.  We packed a picnic lunch and walked the beautiful lawn of William and Mary.  Learning about one another and experiencing the beauty of His creation- together!

And all I could think about was getting back to my husband…and my girls…and holding his hand…

I walked to the top of the trail and snapped that picture of the mountain.  But what I wanted more than anything was for someone to be there to share it with me.  My husband, my girls, a friend…anyone that I love!

Because all that really matters in life is our relationships.  With Jesus, our spouses, children, parents, friends…

And as I began to head back down the trail, I picked up my pace. My speed-walk turned into a jog…and then I began to run faster and faster…because I couldn’t wait to get back home to the ones I love the most.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love.

But the greatest of these is love.  1 Corinthians 13:13

 

18 responses to “Be careful what you wish for

  1. So true! I love reading your posts. They give this professor a great feeling!

    Like

  2. I know EXACTLY what you felt! Quiet time is needed, but I never want it to last long. 🙂

    Like

  3. Skye says:

    I love when my quiet time away leads me longing to get back home to the ones I adore. In fact, that is usually the case. Wonderful post, Julie!

    Like

  4. lorriebowden says:

    Julie I LOVE this post. It is so wonderful for you to know how important the people in your life are to you!! Sounds like you had a very beautiful day!! Blessitude

    Like

  5. Just beautiful Julie😀

    Like

  6. This is me exactly…longing for peace and quiet and then missing everyone. I often tell my husband that I need some time and when he decides to take the children out, I hop in the jeep…lol.

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Lol! I have done similar things… I always feel like I will miss out on something special if I am not with them. But they definitely enjoy their special times with just Daddy 🙂

      Like

  7. Oh how I know how this feels all too well!! With four kids of my own I have many times longed for quiet. Often said my idea of a perfect night out is me alone Ina hotel room with a book and pen and paper. But, in reality I’d miss my crazy little life! Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  8. The title of your site is so fitting for your spirit 🙂 giving thanks for you!

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      I am thankful for you- and your encouragement today 🙂 I am one of those people who sing all the time- everything turns into a song, lol! I love music and singing so much, but I love Jesus more 🙂 I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free- in Christ! Many blessings to you!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

