I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

New Life

on April 16, 2014

 

photo

The lovely nest found on my front door today!

Signs of new life everywhere

Spring ushers in winter’s rest

A Surprise

New life right at my door-

a perfectly crafted bird’s nest!

A warm spring morning prompted me to take a stroll through the neighborhood.

As I walked along, I looked for signs of spring- signs of new life buzzing around me.  It’s not hard to see it.  One good sniff and you can smell the pollen in the air, see the pear tree flower buds blowing in the breeze, and watch the kelly green leaves sprouting on tree branches. Birds are alive and well- singing their symphony for all to hear.  It is a wonderful time of expectation- expecting the beautiful things that spring ushers in.

As my dog stopped to sniff the ground, I looked down at my feet and saw a patch of clovers.  I remembered how much I love looking for 4 leaf clovers! I took a closer look, and lo and behold- I found a 5 leaf clover!  What a special blessing to start the day!  I used to lie in the grass for entire afternoons as a kid searching for 4 leaf clovers… and 5 leaf ones are definitely a treasured find!

photo

Another beautiful sign of spring and new life…

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.  

2 Corinthians 5:17

The Lord has had me thinking about being a “new creation”- and what that looks like as a Christ follower.  Am I living a life that represents the hope of the resurrected Jesus?  And I started thinking about signs of new life in me…. do people see Him in me?  His Hope? Peace? Joy?  In my countenance, my words and actions?  In the very way I am living out my life- do they see Christ in me?Am I a sign of His New Life- His Spirit at work in me?

See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland. Isaiah 43:19

He is always at work…doing a new thing. Am I surrendering to Him at all times and allowing Him to continuously work in me?

After a day of  contemplating signs of new life, I found the most wonderful sign of new life-a baby bird’s nest nestled in the basket on my front door! In 17 years of marriage, I don’t recall ever having a bird’s nest around my home…and to find this at the start of Holy Week… God is most certainly in the little details!

O Lord, what a variety of things you have made!  In wisdom you have made them all.  The earth is full of your creatures. Psalm 104:24

But the best news of all is that He is risen!  His Spirit is alive and well- living in each of us.  The old has passed away and the new has already come.  And He is making us new each day!

Lord, may I live my life out in such a way that people see the Hope of Jesus in me. May I surrender each day to You and allow You to bring new seasons into my life.   I want to  be in the center  of Your will and serve You in all I do!

 

 

18 responses to “New Life

  1. kcg1974 says:

    Your word together with the picture are so beautiful. Such a bright beginning to my morning. Thank you for this.

    Like

  2. I like looking for four leaf clovers, too, but I’ve never found one!

    Like

  3. lilkaraphael says:

    What lovely way for me to end my day. That post was quite beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing and stopping by God, autism and me. B Blessed! Lilka

    Like

  4. Lovely! To always live like the new creations we are… A great goal in everyday grace anew!

    Like

  5. I found bird nest w/ My little one the other day. All day long I had a sweet song of “Rise & Shine”, sweet how this season is. Nicely done w/ the scriptures.

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      My girls and I smile every time we hear those sweet birds singing at my door! Yes, spring is such a beautiful time of year! thank you for visiting and commenting. Blessings to you!

      Like

  6. Elaine says:

    What a lovely way to start your day! Thank you for sharing it with us and for the beautiful picture and picture words of God’s love for us.

    Like

  7. lorriebowden says:

    Yes Spring…time of rebirth…and yes, a perfect time for reflection! This is a beautiful post that evoked many childhood feelings. Looking for clovers reminded me of the first time I found a shark tooth in the shell bed on the beach in Florida. I wouldn’t stop until I found one…hours later I had quite the stash. The first was the hardest…The rest came easy! 🙂 Blessitude

    Like

  8. […] the little things that make me happy!   In a previous post , I shared how I found a bird’s nest on my front door.  My girls and I have been anxiously […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

