I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

I think I think too much…

on May 2, 2014

photo

 fleeting thoughts- like clouds

changing moment by moment

as the trees stand tall
 

 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD.  Isaiah 55:8

There are times when I think way too hard about things.  My husband gave me some good advice the other day-

“Don’t think about it- just do it!”

As soon as he said this, I began to think- that is so much easier said than done!  And then I quickly realized that I was, again, thinking about it and not doing it!

If I only took the same amount of time I lamented over a chore, or over doing something that was necessary but doesn’t necessarily make me happy- it would already be done! And all those dishes I loathe washing?   If I just got off my duff and did them, it would take a fraction of the time.  The fact of the matter is that my mind wants to rationalize why I should wait to do something… or why I shouldn’t even bother at all.

For instance- I have probably written twice as many blog posts that I have not hit the “publish” button on… why, you ask?  That’s a good question. Because I think about it instead of doing it.  And then I doubt myself.  And then I think- who cares what I’m thinking about?  I can talk myself out of doing absolutely anything!

But those are the very times I need to commit these thoughts to the One whose thoughts are higher than mine. The thing I fear the most is not being obedient to God because I am thinking too much and not praying enough.  I want to be obedient in the big and the small things. The more time I spend with Him, the more clearly I see what He is leading me to do each moment.

So I don’t need to think about it- I need to pray about it…

and then trust and obey!

For as the heavens are higher than the earth,

So are My ways higher than your ways,

And My thoughts than your thoughts.  Isaiah 55:9

Lord, I am so grateful for Your grace, and that Your thoughts are so much greater than mine could ever be!  Help me to commit my every thought- every concern, worry, fear- my every need to You in prayer.  You care about every detail of my life- even my fleeting thoughts… may I leave them all in Your hands today.  

9 responses to “I think I think too much…

  1. January says:

    Funny, Shannon mentioned something like this to me the other day too….when I was struggling with posting something I thought would “offend” someone else…I struggled with the same obedience…because you know thinking about speaking the truth was so much more daunting than just saving that post in the “drafts” folder. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this today!
    Blessings, January

    Like

  2. lorriebowden says:

    Julie I love this post! It reminds me of Nike’s ad…Just Do It!! I hate when I procrastinate about something, when I know deep down that it is something that I need to do…and I also have faith that it will turn out exactly the way it is supposed to!! I think Nike followed that ad campaign with “Just Did It”…love it. Here’s to listening to our guiding voice. Your photograph is so beautiful and it paired with your words so harmoniously. Blessitude 🙂

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      I don’t like to procrastinate, either. Sometimes I have to be in the “mood” to do certain things though… like writing, or homework, or housework… ok, maybe I don’t need to be in the mood to clean, lol- that would be procrastinating for sure!! Thank you for your kind words! I hope you have had a wonderful weekend!

      Like

  3. osarobohenry says:

    Thank you so much for stopping by at my blog and for liking some of my posts. May the Lord open His book of remembrance

    Like

  4. Julie, your husband is a very wise man! I spend a lot of time thinking too instead of doing. Makes for a lot of stress in my experience. My husband tells me the same thing your husband does and I have begun to take his advice…if only I would stop worry after I have done it lol.

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Yes, the more I think, the more stress I think I have, lol!! And yes, worrying is no better! We need to leave all our thoughts, stress, worries… at the feet of Jesus! And leave them there, lol!! Hope you are doing well!

      Like

      • I think leaving them there to stay is one of my problems. I take them to the foot of the cross and leave them, and some how I find myself with them again…lol!!

        Hope you are doing well too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

