I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

no servant is greater than his master

on March 24, 2016

IMG_1185

I had a profound experience last year during Holy Week.

After a day filled with many obstacles, I decided to wash my cares away in the nail salon.  Honestly, I was ‘not fit for human consumption” at that point.  That’s my fancy way of saying I had a bad attitude! When I walked into the salon and saw a young girl begin to fill the foot bath with hot water, I immediately had negative thoughts.

She probably doesn’t even know what she’s doing! I’m going to be wasting my time and money today. And then she’s going to do such a bad job, I’ll probably have to paint my toenails all over again when I get home!

She sat at my feet and had the most beautiful smile. She was pleasant, and despite my silence, she continued to make small talk.  I was convicted the moment she opened her mouth.  I had already sized her up and had not been acting very Christ-like…even though I hadn’t said a word.  You know- He hears what we say, but He hears what we are thinking, too!

So I began to think about this girl instead of my own problems, and started to chat with her. I asked her where she was from, how long she had been doing nails… all the usual small talk.

And then she asked me what I did for a living.

*gulp*

I told her I was a minister and shared with her the various things I did at church.

And then I knew why God had me there that day.

She opened up about her faith and shared with me some of her struggles and trials. I could see the conviction on her face as she told me that she didn’t go to church much.  You don’t have to go to church to follow Jesus, I said to her.

IMG_1179

we are ALL on a journey!

I’ve been where you are, I said to her.

I asked her if she had any questions and she did.  Lots of them. I simply shared with her my testimony- how I felt empty and void of any joy in my life.  I prayed earnestly one day and pleaded with God- If You are who You say You are- I need to see You!  And shortly after that prayer, He led me to start reading the Bible and praying daily.  I just went through the motions at first, but didn’t give up.  The more I did these things, the more real He became. She listened to every word.

As we shared this beautiful moment, I was humbly reminded of Jesus and how He washed His disciples’ feet-

When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them. “You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet.  I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.  Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him.  Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.-  John 13:12-17

God humbled me that day.

No servant is greater than his master.  

I thank God for His grace, for how He  continues to humble me, and for how He teaches me these huge life lessons in the most extraordinary ways.

And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death– even death on a cross!  Philippians 2:8

IMG_1018

A recent sunset…reminding me of the cross 

13 responses to “no servant is greater than his master

  1. realchange4u says:

    Julie just echo what you have already said. The Lord said work out your salvation with fear and trembling. That word trembling means humility. It is the humbel that take on Christ’s character. It is so wonderful when we can hear and submit to our Lord when we are prideful. IIt’s a good indicator we are on the right track. The lordLord said he opposes the prideThankful he didn’t say he didn’t love them.

    I can say ditto to all you shared. Lord humble me. Now get ready.
    Peace

    Liked by 1 person

  2. atimetoshare.me says:

    So beautiful. The honor of having your feet washed by someone who needed to be encouraged must have been very humbling. God put you at that salon for a reason. May he continue to bless your ministry!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      It was a really moving experience. There is something really special about sharing our testimonies with complete strangers. Thank you for always encouraging me- your kind words are always a blessing, and much appreciated!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. dawnlizjones says:

    Wow! Thanks for sharing such a valuable lesson! Also, the photo is pretty amazing–symbolizes to me how the Cross of Jesus is applicable even in our “sophisticate, high-tech” century. Mind if I reprint in on my site? (With a link to yours, naturally!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks, Dawn! Of course- you are welcome to share the picture! There are power lines all over the place here, and I cannot look at them without thinking about the cross…I’m grateful that He really can use ALL things to draw us closer to Him 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Julie, this story is so beautiful – Reminds of Jesus’ disciples asking, “When did I feed you, Lord?”
    “When you fed the least of these.”

    You may not have fed her a Big Mac, Julie, but you most certainly fed her with the love and compassion of Jesus and with the Living Water of his word. And that will reach more deeply into her heart and spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      He was very much alive in that salon as we were talking. I don’t know that I’ve ever shared so much with a stranger as I was led to that day! I only hope that our conversation led her to want to know Him more! Thanks for your kind words, my friend 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. paulfg says:

    WOW! Thank you thank thank you!! ((hugs))

    Liked by 1 person

  6. vw1212 says:

    beautiful..vw

    Like

  7. […] FABULOUS photo was captured by Julie at I Sing Because I’m Free.  It reminds me that, low-tech or high-tech, ancient or “sophisticated” 21st century, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

