I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

contentment

on October 31, 2016

2016-09-20-19-23-13-1

I took my youngest daughter to the bus stop one recent chilly fall morning, and as I pulled around the corner-  I saw a rose colored sunrise in the sky, dew drops glistened on amber colored tree leaves, and lots and lots of kids. Happy children ran back and forth across the quiet street, playing with a new puppy. Mommas were gathered with coffee mugs in hand, some with their dogs leashed up along side them.

As I sat in my van (honestly I was hiding in my minivan… I was still in my pajamas, lol) my daughter said goodbye and dashed crossed the street.  She began chatting away with the other kids at the stop, talking excitedly, grinning from ear to ear about something.

And in that moment, I fought back tears.  Because this was my greatest dream as a child- to have a family! 

I have been so guilty of seeking happiness in the wrong places…and thinking if only this or that would happen (insert any number of random circumstances), I would be so much happier…

But that morning it hit me like a ton of bricks how greatly blessed I am.

I have a wonderful husband who loves me, and he’s a great provider for our family.

I have two amazing, healthy, intelligent girls whom I have great expectations of doing awesome things in the future… and my greatest hope is for them to serve the Lord in whatever they choose to do with their lives.

Our greatest source of joy is found only in Jesus… not in anyone or in anything else!

I told my husband that I felt like an old mom that day.  I came in the house from taking my youngest to the bus stop wearing exactly what I had slept in.  My hair was all disheveled, and I didn’t have shoes on.  When I look in the mirror these days, I see a few more laugh lines and wrinkles on my face.  And you know what?

I’m ok with that 🙂

I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  Philippians 4:12

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.  Romans 15:13

IMG_2823

 

8 responses to “contentment

  1. Julie…i feel sorry for u not having ur “childhood” but atleast now you are complimenting this with raising tour 2 daughters with honour. I have two daughters too. Please keep celebrating life. Cheers 😊

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thank you for your comment 😊 I was blessed with a great childhood! The post I wrote before this one was about all the things I dreamed of doing as an adult… one thing I failed to mention was that my greatest desire was to be a mom and have a family. I am so grateful that the Lord has blessed me with a wonderful husband and two healthy, beautiful, intelligent girls. God is good!! Many blessings to you-and thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lorriebowden says:

    This is beautiful, Julie!! I can feel your gratefulness and that is so wonderful. Blessings to you and your lovely family ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heather says:

    Soak it all in. I love those moments of gratitude that come our of nowhere!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

