I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

you get what you need

on August 10, 2016

IMG_2704

Long car rides sound like such a fun idea… until things don’t go as planned.  On our way home from visiting our family and friends, we could see a storm brewing up ahead. We were all tired and just wanted to be home. It seemed like the perfect time to stop and have dinner while the storm passed.  We went through the drive-thru and ate in the car as the rain drops began to pelt against the windshield.

I noticed that the windows were beginning to fog up….and then the air conditioner didn’t feel quite so cool anymore.  Just as I suspected, the a/c had stopped working, and because it was muggy and rainy outside, the windows got so foggy that we couldn’t see a thing!  We waited for a while, but the rain kept coming.

I ate my dinner in silence.  I was so mad, tired, and now HOT.  Knowing that it was going to get dark before we got home, I suggested we keep going so at least we had some daylight to drive in.

Hubby drove as I haphazardly wiped away the moisture from the windshield.  The windows were rolled down, and oddly enough, I found the loud noise to be comforting- I didn’t have to say a word.  No one could hear me even if I did, which was probably a good thing, because I was in a horrible mood and didn’t have anything good to say.

We drove in silence for a long time.

And then the clouds began to break up.

IMG_2673

 I saw the pink hues glowing in the distance, and the sun was like a fireball setting directly in front of us.  It was breathtakingly beautiful.

I took my phone out and began to take a few pictures.  And then my hubby started commenting on the clouds, too.

IMG_2680

“I love you, babe,” he tells me.

“Love you, too.”

And then all was right in the world again.  The peace of the Lord had permeated the atmosphere, and we couldn’t help but smile.

I began to belt out one of my old favorite choir songs from my college days-

“The heavens are telling the glory of God…” I sang out in my best opera voice as we enjoyed the view ahead.

IMG_2711

When you see such a glorious sight, you can’t help but worship.  You can’t help but praise the Lord and give thanks for the beauty He creates.

And as our focus turned to Him, the lack of a/c didn’t matter quite so much.

Because we had each other,

and two healthy girls,

a van that would still get us home… and most importantly-

a Heavenly Father

who knows how to get us back on track!

We seem to find the things we look  for.  If I’m discouraged, it doesn’t take much for me to find more things to be discouraged about.  On the flip side, when I look for something Good- I find His infinite blessings! 

IMG_2713

And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.  Philippians 4:8

The heavens proclaim the glory of God.
    The skies display his craftsmanship.  Psalm 19:1

 

 

14 responses to “you get what you need

  1. realchange4u says:

    Just to take the time to behold his glory. So many times I miss these opportunities when a bump in the road comes along. Thanks for a Beautiful reminder Julie.

    Blessings to you

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Me too…I’ve missed more opportunities than I’d like to admit…and yet daily He still paints gorgeous sunsets and fills the world with so many beautiful things. Thanks for always taking the time to share your thoughts…they are so appreciated 😊 Hope you are having a wonderful week!

      Liked by 1 person

      • realchange4u says:

        I am Julie. Getting ready to do a prayer walk for the schools in our community on Saturday. I hope your week was a good one also and a even more blessed weekend with your family.

        Peace to you

        Like

  2. That Psalm verse gets me every time, Julie. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That was beautiful, made me tear up. Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love moments like this! His presence swoops in and just makes everything better.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dawnlizjones says:

    “a Heavenly Father who knows how to get us back on track!” Totally!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. deharris2 says:

    We sure did enjoy your visit. Even though it took a couple of days to recoup from the unaccustomed activity. Very glad you had a wonderful breakthrough to God’s glory, going home. Love & blessings, Dad.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

