I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

He has made me glad

on July 20, 2016

IMG_2481

I had someone recently tell me they were looking for a sign from God.  I told them that He is always faithful and will give them exactly what they need -in His perfect timing!

I know this because He has been so faithful to me.

With no stream in sight, lately I’ve felt like I am walking through a desert.  As someone who wears her heart on her sleeve at all times, I’ve cried more in the last week than I have in ages.  I HATE to cry.  Especially in front of people.  It is humiliating, embarrassing, and makes me feel weak. But sometimes I just can’t stop the tears from flowing, and I have stopped fighting it.

I arrived at church Sunday morning, and was sitting at the piano- praying and getting ready to begin our worship practice.  As I sat there, I got a text from a friend saying they were praying for me.  I responded, letting them know how much their prayers meant to me and to share with them that I had been feeling very “down” this past week.

As soon as did I hit “send” on my response, I saw someone enter the sanctuary- all smiles, and holding a flower.  I got up from the piano as she came to the stage.

“God told me to give this to you today!”  She had cut the bloom from her yard that morning.

IMG_2475

I cried- yes, again, lol–  but this time they were tears of joy!  It was a gladiola bloom.

“He has made me GLAD,” I said as I hugged her, and in that instant the joy of the Lord flooded my heart.

He is with us, and He shows up in the most wonderful ways!

And always right on time.

For You, Lord, have made me glad through Your work;
I will triumph in the works of Your hands.  Psalm 92:4 

IMG_2477

Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.  1 Peter 5:6-7

 

 

10 responses to “He has made me glad

  1. realchange4u says:

    Friends are such good blessings. I love a encourager.

    Peace

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dawnlizjones says:

    Brilliant. But also because your soul and spirit were POSITIONED to RECEIVE such encouragement as from your Father! I think perhaps we miss some of His creative communiques because we’re not expecting them. Okay, now could you pray for me? My guitar has been in the shop while we’ve been on vacation, and I can’t get in touch with the shop, AND I’m supposed to lead worship this Sunday…I wonder what God might do with this one???

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Oh Dawn… please forgive me… I read this days ago and I DID pray for you… but have been a total slacker on actually typing a response to you. I pray that your voice and guitar is in tip top shape and that you were able to bring glory to the Lord through worship!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • dawnlizjones says:

        Hey! Thanks so much! Had the awesome privilege of playing on the team with my brother who was visiting a couple Sundays ago. That was a real blessing to me! Back at you also!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Julie Harris says:

        Wow! That must have been so awesome! My sister sings, but does not live near me…that would be so special to have her sing with me at church. Maybe one day! So glad you had that blessed experience! Hope you are having a wonderful week 🙂

        Like

  3. Love it! Glad your spirits were lifted. Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lorriebowden says:

    I know times like that Julie…when you just can’t control the tears…I broke down with a total stranger just Saturday. He was beautiful in the way he handled me…and then it didn’t quite feel like we were strangers at all. And that is what God does for us…he gives us exactly what we need…when we need it…and I am so grateful!! Sending you a cyber hug…and taking some of your sorrow. Have a blessed week ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

