I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Lament

on July 1, 2016
 Lament
I’m Mary and I’m Martha all at the same time;
I’m sitting at His feet and yet I’m dying to be recognized.
I am a picture of contentment and I am dissatisfied.
Why is it easy to work but hard to rest sometimes,
Sometimes, sometimes
I’m restless, and I rustle like a thousand tall trees;
I’m twisting and I’m turning in an endless daydream.
You wrestle me at night and I wake in search of You…
But try as I might, I just can’t catch You
But I want to, ’cause I need You, yes, I need You
I can’t catch You, but I want to.How long, how long until I’m home?
I’m so tired, so tired of running
How long until You come for me?How long, how long until I’m home?
I’m so tired, so tired of running
How long until You come for me?By Audrey Assad 

This song has been playing on repeat in my heart and mind for days.  The piano…the psalm-like words… they echo the restlessness I so often experience.  Wanting to be doing something and yet- needing to just be.
My sweet, beautiful Granny went to be with the Lord yesterday.  As I prayed and thought of her journey over the last few days, I imagined her running- desperately running into the arms of Jesus.
Praise the Lord, she is finally home.
“You have made us for yourself, O Lord, and our hearts are restless until they rest in you.”               -Saint Augustine
 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rn-mEQghZWQ
5 responses to “Lament

  1. realchange4u says:

    So true Julie. Carolyn is like that more so than me. We are restless in many things. We were at a prayer event and one of the pastors noticed the kids running around upon the hill behind us. She called them down and lined them up across the front and we laid hands on them and prayed for them. Several were filled with the spirit. Peace rulled in their little heart’s. Just like you said. In him we find peace. Love this post.

    Blessings to you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are so blessed and are such a blessing and inspiration to so many. Your music was a gift from Jesus and I was truly moved by it. I know Granny has heard this beautiful piece and is rejoicing with the Lord as we speak
    I love you, Mom

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Julie, so sorry to hear about your Granny. I pray now for comfort for your heart, and for your voice to reach her as she stands hand in hand with her Lord and Savior.
    May His face shine upon you and give you peace. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thank you so much for your comforting words, Susan! We had her memorial service yesterday and it was definitely a celebration of her life. She was a wonderful lady and she will be missed❤️ But we rejoice knowing she is with the Lord!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

