I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

things aren’t always what they seem…

on June 24, 2016

Like lots of middle-aged folks, I have a hard time going to sleep at night.  Now that summer is in full swing, our normal “school year” routine has flown out the window.  I have never been one to stay up late, and no matter what time I go to bed- my eyes pop open at the crack of dawn.  My hubby has always been a night owl, and our two girls have inherited this trait from him- much to my dismay!

So needless to say, it’s hard going to sleep early while the rest of the house is still awake. I have been keeping myself up ’til everyone is settled, but I still wake up around 5 am or so every morning. Imagine my surprise when I found this in Target the other day-

IMG_2342

ahhh….. deep sleep at last!!!!

Really?  I can get my vitamins and a special sleep potion all in one fizzy drink??  SOLD!!

I was hopeful- really hopeful, that I was going to sleep like a baby that first night. So around 9pm, I poured my glass of water and emptied one of the powdered packets into the glass.  I smelled the berry flavor as I stirred and then chugged it down.  It was actually really refreshing.  And the powder dissolved completely- another strange pet peeve I have (having powdered residue in my drinks really bothers me!)

I fell asleep really fast that night.  So fast that I didn’t even remember my head hitting the pillow.  But much to my dismay- I was awake by 1am! I was super annoyed.  This was supposed to be my sleepless cure!  I got up to use the restroom and then quickly went back to sleep.

Until I was up at 3am…you guessed it- to use the bathroom.  Again.  In fact, I used this Emergen-zzzz several nights before I realized it was actually causing me to wake up multiple times a night to use the restroom.

So whose bright idea was it to make a sleep aid that actually causes you to wake up to pee several times a night?!

I’ve laughed for days about this because I have one of the smallest bladders known to man, and also because it never crossed my mind that it might actually cause me to wake up!

I’d say a better name for this product would be Emergen-p!

11 responses to “things aren’t always what they seem…

  1. lorriebowden says:

    Hahaha…so funny, Julie…well…not that you didn’t get to sleep…but the idea of it and certainly lyrics the name!! Hope all is super ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emergen-lies 🙂 Vitamin C, in synthetic form, often acts a diuretic. I personally think their box should say, “Warning, you will pee your investment right out!”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. popswally says:

    Although your story is funny looking back… I’ve been reminded why I changed jobs! Sleep interruption is the worst and that was what we endured for three decades! So glad to hear you figured it out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dawnlizjones says:

    So fun to hear you talk about your differences! Bob is the night owl and i’m like you (thus my name Dawn perhaps??)

    Like

  5. realchange4u says:

    First I am so sorry about you lack of sleep. Secondly that was so funny the way you told it. I could just see you thinking sleep and getting up all night to go to the bathroom. Who would ever dream a sleep aid would do that? Praying for rest for you.

    Blessings Julie

    Like

  6. vw1212 says:

    The regular one is basically “sugar”, so not surprised about your experience with this one…vw

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

