I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

stop and smell the roses

on June 11, 2016

DSC_0428.jpg

This week, I celebrated birthday #39, and it was also my 3 year anniversary of starting this blog.  I feel like I’ve been celebrating for a few weeks now, because my hubby surprised me with my birthday gift a bit early.  We took a trip to the beach a few weeks ago, and the day we arrived, he gave me a big box.  Seeing how excited he was to give it to me made me even more giddy to see what it was! DSC_0442

He bought me a nifty new camera- all decked out with different lenses and filters and a tripod… more stuff than I know what to do with!  And I love that he gave it to me when he knew I’d have the time to learn how to use it.    DSC_0444

One day while we were at the beach, we visited the Elizabethan Gardens.  The weather was gorgeous- just slightly breezy and warm.  With my swanky new camera dangling from my neck, we strolled through the gardens, taking in all the scenery.  DSC_0418

It was definitely a day to remember!  Just the two of us, leisurely strolling along without a care in the world- except to enjoy the beauty around us. DSC_0495

Here he is, trying to sneak away from the camera… holding my camera bag and map in hand…

I was so thankful for all the the Lord has  blessed me with, and for the wonderful husband He has given me to share my life with-  someone I still look forward to going on dates with.  Someone who makes me see things from a different perspective.  Someone who knows me better than I know myself at times, and who always sees the best in me.  DSC_0419

I’m gonna to make it a priority as I begin the countdown to birthday # 40 to

stop and smell the roses

to appreciate His creation

to spend more time with my family and friends  

and to seek JOY!

DSC_0424.jpg

The Lord is my strength and shield.
    I trust him with all my heart.
He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy.  Psalm 28:7

DSC_0503

For the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit-  Romans 15:17

DSC_0483

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13

DSC_0490

21 responses to “stop and smell the roses

  1. dawnlizjones says:

    AH! Happy birthday, Julie! And happy photo-ing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Merritt says:

    Beautifully done Julie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Birthday Julie and nice blog too

    Liked by 1 person

  4. atimetoshare.me says:

    Happy birthday to you and may God continue to bless your life.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dnorris99 says:

    Happy belated birthday, Julie. Great pics, but where were the roses?:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy birthday, Julie! What an awesome gift, and what better way to spend the year approaching a big-0 birthday. I’m ahead of you a bit, just past a big-0, and loved seeing your lovely pics. May God bless you with many more!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Melissa says:

    Beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  8. lorriebowden says:

    I love this energy you are in, Julie!! Lots of love and Birthday Blessings to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Just listened to you singing In Christ Alone .. lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

