I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

joy comes in the morning

on May 31, 2016

 

DSC_0401.jpg

OBX Sunrise

I sat in silence watching you

reveling in daylight’s debut 

DSC_0329.jpg

a front-row seat upon the sand 

morning sprung forth from His hand 

 

DSC_0335.jpg

we witnessed daybreak’s glorious light 

across the glassy ocean bright 

 

DSC_0350.jpg

like looking through a kaleidoscope 

the beauty filled my soul with hope 

DSC_0322.jpg

as I sat in silence watching you 

reveling in daylight’s debut

***********

I am a “sunset” girl- and I get to see them pretty often.

But getting to see an actual sunrise on the beach?  That’s a special occasion for sure!

It was going to be our last full day at the beach, and so we decided to get up super early and make the 5 minute drive to the ocean to watch the sun come up.  As I was drifting off to sleep the night before, my hubby asked me if I had set the alarm since we were going to get up at the crack of dawn to see this!  No- I had forgotten… huge shocker, lol… I forget EVERYTHING!!  But I just knew the good Lord will wake me up on time to get there, I smiled as I told my husband.

DSC_0409.jpg

Sure enough, about 4:30am my eyes popped open.

We drove the short distance to the ocean and as I walked across the dunes, it was like a wonderland.  Misty, slightly cloudy- the ocean water glittered like diamonds, shimmered with rosy hues as it reflected the dawn sky.  It was just stunning.

DSC_0416.jpgI could have sat there all day long.  The Lord woke me up right on time, and He gave us a magnificent morning.

God is good.

…but joy comes in the morning.  Psalm 30:5

10 responses to “joy comes in the morning

  1. lorriebowden says:

    So so beautiful…I’m happy you got to enjoy this!! I’m certain you had a wonderful trip 🙂 Blessings, Julie! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks, Lorrie! We had an amazing week!! It was hard to come home…but I am grateful for the precious time away with my family ❤️ Hope you are doing well!!

      Like

      • lorriebowden says:

        Thanks, Julie 🙂 I know how much you look forward to this vacation. It sure looks like you had a very blessed time with your family 🙂 Blessings for a super weekend ♡

        Like

  2. Beautiful photos!!
    I hope you & your family are doing well

    Liked by 1 person

  3. realchange4u says:

    Makes you want to move to the beach or maybe not come home. Did you notice the sound of the waves breaking. So near how when no one is around and all is silent. You can finally hear. Absolutely love these images.

    Blessings to both of you

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thank you, Tom 😊 It was so peaceful and beautiful out on the beach that morning! There’s nothing as soothing as the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. Believe me, I tried to think of a way for us to move there! It’s only about an hour from where our hometown is. We moved away from our hometown 12 years ago. I keep telling myself it wouldn’t be as special if we lived there… I’m not so sure I believe that though, lol! I hope you are having a great week! Blessings to you, my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

      • realchange4u says:

        Awwwww I totally understand. Carolyn wants to sell out and move to gulfshores Alabama. Am like why are we waiting.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Julie Harris says:

        Go for it! We took a leap of faith moving away from our hometown 12 years ago, but definitely felt that God was guiding us to move here. Change is never easy- but it was good for us! I’ve never been to Alabama…would love to visit there someday 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

