I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

waiting for a song

on April 11, 2016

IMG_1483

I sit here waiting 

anticipating 

for company 

i do long

IMG_1477

for friends that I 

watch soar on by 

I’m listening 

for their song 

IMG_1475

After a morning at church, we settled in for a restful afternoon.  From my bedroom, I heard hustling and bustling coming from the kitchen.  Curiously I got up and went to see what was going on…

IMG_1471

“Mom- look what I did, ” my oldest daughter smiled proudly as she opened the cabinets.  All organized and tidy.  And on the floor- probably more stuff than was in the cabinets.  All expired canned foods, old tupperware, and junk, junk, junk!

IMG_1466

“That is wonderful, babe!  But make sure you put all the junk in the trash.”  I tried my best to hide my disapproval of the huge mess in the floor.  I knew that I was going to be the one to finish this project…when all I wanted to do was take a nap!IMG_1464

“And guess what else I did, Mom- I found a bag of birdseed and put it out on the patio for you!”  She was all smiles, knowing how much I love to watch birds- something I have not done much lately.

She always knows how to make my day. Simply knowing that she thought about me and did something she knew would make me happy was the highlight of my afternoon!  As I finished cleaning up the kitchen this morning, I realized that even in the middle of a mess, there’s always a reason to be blessed!  IMG_1462And so this morning, after I got the girls on the bus, I found myself running to the kitchen window every time I heard a noise- anxiously waiting for my feathered friends to make their first appearance!

They’re on their way 🙂

He gives food to every creature.
His love endures forever.  

Psalm 136

5 responses to “waiting for a song

  1. atimetoshare.me says:

    I love the stories about you and your children!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. realchange4u says:

    So much love, then they grow up and that childhood love is gone. Michael used to scatter my brake tools everywhere when I would be working on a car. Frustrating then, miss it now. They are so precious. I look at them now. Mike is still looking for my approval. Thomas is to. Kelly always wanted to please. I love them all for who they are not for what they will become. Although I have prayers and hope. Thanks Julie for sharing your stories about your children. I enjoy them and they cause me to reflect on mine.

    Blessings Tom

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Tom, thank you for sharing your beautiful memories…I find myself still looking for my parents’ approval sometimes, too! Most importantly though is to have my Heavenly Father’s approval- I have to remind myself that often!! I love that the stories I share remind you of your own family 🙂 Memories are so precious!! May He richly bless you today, my friend 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

