I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

loved

on February 3, 2016

IMG_5898

While I love taking photos, I have never liked having my own picture taken.  My hair is never right, my smile looks fake, and the angle is never flattering.  But I experienced something this past weekend that had a profound impact on the way I saw a picture of myself.

The Sunday service had just finished, and I began tidying up the stage. A couple of ladies- whom I love dearly- came to the edge of the stage to chat with me. Trying to be lady-like, I knelt down to talk with them and sat with my legs tucked behind me.

We chatted about life and how our weeks had been, and then out of the blue, one of them said to the other-

“Quick!  Get your phone out and take a picture!”

“A picture of what?” I asked, confused.

“A picture of YOU!”

I thought it was a weird request.  Why in the world would she- out of the clear blue-want to take my picture?

And in that moment, I felt the Lord answer me-

because she loves you

“Don’t change a thing!  Just keep sitting like you are.”

So I continued to sit just as I had been, while they took my picture. I noticed my husband walking back into the sanctuary, and he began walking up towards us.  I started to laugh thinking about how odd this impromptu photo session must have seemed.

“Don’t move!”

And I sat as still as I could while they moved around to find the best lighting.

“Aww… see?  I knew it was going to be a good one!” They showed me the photo on their phone, and for one of the first times, I didn’t notice all those little flaws about myself that I usually do.

 I saw something very different-

I saw someone who felt loved.

Someone who felt worthy of having their picture taken.

It was such a sweet, sincere moment-  a simple, loving gesture that I will not forget.

I am so thankful to have this photo to always remind me that

I am

loved.

Let love be genuine.  

Romans 12:9

Processed with MOLDIV

I am loved.  And so are YOU!!! 

15 responses to “loved

  1. Trini Lind says:

    Oooooh, you look soooo sweet and beautiful!!! 💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. realchange4u says:

    There is a manifestation of Jesus in you and me. How can that not be beautiful? So happy you see what others see in you Julie. Let your lamp shine and be filled with oil, that the world would know him.

    Much love Tom

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      That is always such an amazing thought- Christ “in” us…thank you, Tom, for always sharing your thoughts. In that moment, I was overwhelmed with love- with His love 🙂 This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine!! I hope you are having a wonderful week!

      Like

  3. I can most definitely relate to this post. I’d much rather be behind the camera instead of in front of it. Beautiful, like you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ropheka says:

    I agree, I prefer to be behind the camera. I always explain that it is more treasured what is on the inside than the out. You are a beautiful child of Gods

    Liked by 1 person

  5. paulfg says:

    “I saw someone who felt loved.”

    Wow!! ((hugs))

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lorriebowden says:

    So beautiful!!…Inside and out 😉 ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

