I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Walk in love

on January 26, 2016

IMG_0723

The gorgeous evening sunset

And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

Ephesians 5:2

After praying and pondering, this is the verse He has impressed on my heart and mind for the New Year.  Walk in love, die to my SELF, and do all things as an offering to Him.

Our recent snow-storm really challenged me to put this verse into action.  As my youngest daughter likes to say- It’s about to get REAL up in HERE… especially when you are cooped up in the house for days on end together!

IMG_0644

The snow was coming down so hard, you could barely see!

So on Sunday morning, before anyone else was awake in the house, I snuck outside for a quiet walk to watch the sun rise.  The only sound was the crunching of my snow boots in the cold, crisp air.

IMG_0654

Perfect start to the day after the storm- with an early morning walk!

IMG_0656

I LOVE snow-covered trees!

IMG_0660

IMG_0676

The glow of the sun rising in the distance 

IMG_0686

My walking buddy- with his snow-beard!

But then it got “real up in here”. After everyone was up and moving, we all went outside.  The girls were playing and building a snowman- while hubby and I took shifts digging out our driveway.  That’s where the whole “walk in love” thing went awry.  He had his way of doing it, and I had mine.  And then, just in the nick of time- He brought along a Good Samaritan to save the day!

IMG_0692

My hubby and I were all smiles after the driveway was cleared.

A neighbor down the street came walking by with his new snow blower, with his wife and children in tow.  Without skipping a beat, he began clearing our driveway from the street and worked his way to the area we had already cleared.  And within minutes, he did more than we had done all morning together!

IMG_0694

The good samaritan moving on to help clear the next driveway!

As I watched him and his family help clear driveways, I couldn’t help but think of Ephesians 5:2- walk in love.

Love is about offering yourself…giving and not asking anything in return for it. And while I have intentionally been trying to walk in love, the real goal for me is to not have to “try”… but to just do it!  I am so thankful for our neighbor and his kindness- and for God’s perfect timing!

When we walk, especially in snow -our feet are not so steady.  I am thankful for God’s faithfulness, and how He gently extends His hand of grace to help us get back on track!

IMG_0700

Our lovely snowman made by the girls

After spending the rest of the day of playing, sledding, and relaxing, we had the most amazing sunset- reminding me of His faithfulness and the wonders He creates all around us.

IMG_0715

These poles always remind me of the cross

IMG_0729If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.

Galatians 5:25

9 responses to “Walk in love

  1. Jeanette Rayfield Evancho says:

    Beautiful photos! Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful post 🙂

    I too muse upon the fact that the tool used to help us communicate and connect is a daily reminder of the cross.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      It’s good to be reminded of how much He loves us and what He did for us…I can’t drive past those utility poles without being reminded of the cross- and I pray that I alway will! Thanks for taking the time to comment, and for your encouraging words 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. atimetoshare says:

    Great post about helping others and I love the pictures. I wish we had a neighbor like yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. deharris2 says:

    Wonderful post. Glad we only got about one inch of snow.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] Source: Walk in love […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

