I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Away in a Manger

on December 2, 2015

IMG_3139

It is bittersweet watching the girls grow and “outgrow” certain things…

One of their very favorite Christmas decorations has always been the Little People nativity set.  I used to set it out and they would play with it for hours!  They would even incorporate their own toys into the manger scene.  One day I even found Homer Simpson on top of the manger!

I noticed yesterday that they hadn’t even taken the nativity set out of the box yet.  Sigh… 

I seized the opportunity yesterday and took the nativity out myself!  I set it up on the floor under our tree- something I would have NEVER done- for fear that one of the pieces would get lost or would end up in a toy box somewhere.

As I sat enjoying my cup of coffee this morning, I watched my dog lying under the tree. It has become his favorite spot- resting on the tree skirt under the warmth of the white lights from our tree.  Little did I know, he was waiting to make his move…

“No!”  

I raised my voice at him as I watched him lunge forward and grab the baby Jesus from the nativity.

I laughed as he dropped it from his mouth.  Leave it to my beloved dog to bring a whole new meaning to “Taste and see that the Lord is good”- Psalm 34:8

FullSizeRender

10 responses to “Away in a Manger

  1. Trini Lind says:

    Oooooh, this post made me laugh at loud! 😄🐶😄🐶😄🐶

    Liked by 2 people

  2. atimetoshare says:

    Delightful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. popswally says:

    Leave it to chiildren and our four legged friends to lighten and brighten our days!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lol. Oh, Remy, your new baby, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Julie Harris says:

    lol!! My “real boy” Remy… just like a kid!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lorriebowden says:

    Busted!!! 🙂 Love the warmth of your heart and home!,♡

    Like

Leave a Reply

