I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

when our love was young

on November 30, 2015

on a bench

I linger to remember-

that feeling of old December

when you asked me

for my hand

I didn’t have to consider

if I wanted you forever

I said yes to love-

you were my man

and knew that I would never

have any regrets ever

even in stormy weather

I’d be your fan

I couldn’t wait to be your wife

we talked for hours, we planned our life

and you and I held hands

as we watched the setting sun

when our love

was young

 We recently visited my in-law’s house, the place my hubby called home for many years before we got married.  I was at that house every single day from the time we started dating until the day we got married.  I remember sitting on that bench by the lake nearly 20 years ago near their home and wishing time would just hurry up already! I wanted to be married and have kids and have a house of my own. I remember the desperation I felt at that time.  Life just couldn’t go fast enough for me.

Oh how I wish I could go back and chat with my 18 year old self!

I found myself sitting on that same bench this past week, remembering how much I took for granted back then…how I wished my life away.  Wouldn’t it be great if there were a pause button for “life”?   I wanted more than anything to sit on that bench and remember how it felt to be young again!

It’s hard for me to believe- this Christmas Eve it will be 20 years since my husband asked me to marry him.  I remember it like it was yesterday.

And if he asked me again today-

I’d still say “yes” 🙂

Rejoice, O young man, in your youth,
And let your heart cheer you in the days of your youth;
Walk in the ways of your heart…

Ecclesiastes 11:8 

7 responses to “when our love was young

  1. atimetoshare says:

    This is lovely. I often wish there was a pause button for life, but then think of what we might miss. Have a great day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kev says:

    That is so beautiful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was beautiful to read.

    Like

  4. dawnlizjones says:

    Alright, number one, you don’t old enough to be married 20 years. (I’ve been hitched for 36, and believe me, I look old enough.) Number two–this is P-R-E-C-I-O-U-S. I don’t know how many children you have, but I hope this goes into a hope chest for them somewhere. God bless you all this Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Lol…I was 18 when I got engaged, and 19 (almost 20) when we got married 🙂 So, yes- I was a baby! I feel like I’m looking older by the day- so thanks for the compliment, lol! I’ve got two girls- ages 10&12… they are apples of my eye! Congrats on 36 years! That is quite an accomplishment! Thank you again for your sweet words… I hope you have a very Merry Christmas 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

