I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

be a trend-setter

on October 12, 2015

FullSizeRender

It’s ok to be a trend-setter 

a goldenrod go-getter 

FullSizeRender

Show your true colors

let your dead leaves fall 

FullSizeRender

It’s ok to be a trail-blazer

a “shoot for the stars”-gazer

FullSizeRender

come on, light up the world 

and give Him your all

FullSizeRender

As I went on a walk on this loverly fall evening, I noticed the leaves are FINALLY starting to change. One tree at a time is bursting forth in heavenly color- paving the way for the rest of them …which made me think about my daughters.

Each girl has their own unique style. My youngest is “sporty” and loves to wear mix-matched socks- the crazier the better.  My oldest daughter is a “girly-girl” and likes to accessorize every outfit- fancy or casual- with a scarf. I am trying to encourage them to be themselves- to not get so caught up in what their friends are wearing and doing…for them to know that it’s ok to be different.

One day we were walking through the mall and my girls were talking to me about recent fashion trends.

“I just heard someone say that “fringe” is in. I think fringe is disgusting!” one daughter says to the other.

“Umm… especially armpit fringe.  That’s just the worst!” says my youngest, as she pointed at a shirt in the store’s window display as we were leaving- all decked out in fringe.  The fringe started right at the armpit and went all the way down the sides of the shirt.

I couldn’t help but laugh at the absurdity of armpit fringe.  It seems these girls already recognize that following a “trend” isn’t always the thing to do.

Be yourself.  And who knows- you just might start your own trend!

He has made every thing beautiful in his time- Ecclesiastes 3:11

6 responses to “be a trend-setter

  1. […] Source: be a trend-setter […]

    Like

  2. realchange4u says:

    Good advice Julie. The Lord will create in them what He desires. I had to laugh at the armpit story. Fall is just starting here in Oklahoma. I absolutely love the cooler weather and trees changing color. Ooh and all the candy that’s around now ha-ha.

    Blessings to you Julie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lorriebowden says:

    Love this post, Julie 🙂 Love the pics, love your message, love your girls!! And kudos for honoring each little soul to he who it is 🙂 That is best bit of parenting there is!! 😉 Blessed Sunday!! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kev says:

    Beautiful pics… I do love the Autumn!

    Like

Leave a Reply

