I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

obedience in the little things

on October 6, 2015

FullSizeRender

One evening I was standing at the checkout counter at a local pharmacy, and like countless times before- I was asked if I wanted to donate a dollar to a charity.  I usually said no, and honestly it was just a natural response.  But something was different this time.

I had an entire conversation in my head.

Would I really miss that dollar?  Do I need it? And why do I always say no?

And for whatever reason, something in my cold-black heart changed… I said no- and then I changed my mind-

Sure, I’ll donate the dollar.  

This was one of the first times I clearly felt God nudging me to do something different.

And so I began these little steps in obedience. Every single time I went into a store that asked me to donate a dollar, I felt that nudge- again and again.  Every time. And each time I got quicker with my “yes” response.  Not only did I want to say “yes”, but I truly wanted to WANT to give.  It wasn’t about the dollar amount, I wanted to be obedient.  So I made a little promise to God to say “yes” to every single cashier that asked me- until I felt “released” from this… until I could not only say “yes”- but do it with JOY!

Several years had passed, and I had gotten pretty comfortable with my “one dollar” yeses- and then He nudged me once again.

I was in line at a McDonalds drive thru.  I heard the person in the car ahead of me order their meal, and then I pulled forward.  I rattled off my order and then came the question-

“Would you like to donate a dollar to (some charity)?”

And I immediately fell into my old way of thinking…

She didn’t ask the person in front of me!  Why me?!  Why did she only ask ME to donate?!  Why are people always asking me for money?

And once again, I heard Him nudge me-

be obedient in the little things.

I learned a very valuable lesson that day.  You see, if I had heard that same question asked to the person ahead of me in the drive thru, I would have been prepared with my “yes”.  But the drive thru attendant caught me off-guard that day, revealing to me that maybe He wasn’t done with me yet on this whole dollar thing…

be prepared in season and out of season – 2 Timothy 4:2

It has never been about the dollar.

It’s always about obedience.

No matter the question, my heart’s desire is always to say YES to His nudge-whether it’s to help a friend, make a phone call, pray for someone.  Every day I say YES to Him- His nudge becomes stronger and His voice clearer!

Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts. Hebrews 4:7

9 responses to “obedience in the little things

  1. atimetoshare says:

    Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. paulfg says:

    Profound! And as always you and He find the sweetest details of normal living to show your Love and His glory! Thank you!! ((hugs))

    Liked by 1 person

  3. realchange4u says:

    Great reminder Julie. I am sure there are some area’s in my own life, that I need to listen a little closer to that still small voice.

    Peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post Julie. Thanks for the “reminder.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

