I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

walking in the rain

on September 22, 2015

FullSizeRender

walking in the rain

is always more loverly

when you walk with friends 

FullSizeRender

walking in the rain 

all that is ordinary

glows with morning dew

FullSizeRender

music to my ears

percussive pitter patter

of drip drops on leaves

I had planned to meet a friend to go walking yesterday.  What I hadn’t planned on was rain. In fact, if I had- I would have definitely come up with an alternative plan!  When I saw the dreary day, I briefly considered canceling our walk to stay dry indoors.  But I thought about how many times we decide NOT do something just because of a little rain. It’s not like we’re going to melt or anything… in fact, I kind of enjoy being out in the rain.  So, I decided if my friend showed up- well, I was game for a walk in the rain, too!

FullSizeRender

Sure enough, she was ready and waiting to join me.

The weather was perfect for a walk…well, only if you’re not afraid of a little rain on your parade!  The air was damp and cool, but surprisingly there were many others out walking- soaking up the late summer morning.  I especially loved the crow that was perched on the tippy top of this tree in the picture above. He certainly had a “bird’s eye view” of God’s Creation.  While most of us are running for cover from the rain- here he is, cheerfully cawing and keeping watch over the trail.

FullSizeRender

My friend and I chatted and listened to the sounds all around us.  Being out in the rain was refreshing- and so peaceful.  There was something about walking in the rain that made me feel more alive than ever. 

So, don’t let a little rain stop you from your walk 🙂

“Some people feel the rain- others just get wet”  – Roger Miller 

God’s thunder sets the oak trees dancing
A wild dance, whirling; the pelting rain strips their branches.
We fall to our knees—we call out, “Glory!”  Psalm 29 (Msg)

IMG_5393

6 responses to “walking in the rain

  1. Trini Lind says:

    Ooooooh, gorgeous!!! 😊💖😊💖. I looooove the photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. realchange4u says:

    Beautiful place to walk. I love rainy days and cloudy weather. Slows things down some. Now that’s hoot isn’t it? Thanks for sharing Julie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

