I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Burning embers

on September 9, 2015

IMG_5283

like burning embers 

 the daylight flickers and fades

calming the night sky

IMG_5287

This is where “church” is for me-

anywhere there is an open sky and and a grand view of nature…

IMG_5291

For many years, church was a place I went to spend time with God and to be filled up.  Church service was the only place I sang Christian songs, and the only time I earnestly prayed for much of my life.  I was a Sunday Christian.

Now I am overjoyed to be used by Him- to be serving Him and leading worship every week. It’s an awesome thing that now I “get to” serve and help lead others to worship and be “fed” after all those years of being a “consumer” of church…

but after a Sunday Service, I am often left feeling empty and completely drained.

So when I need to “recharge”, I spend time in nature… this is “going to church” for me now.

IMG_5297

Last Sunday evening I jumped into the car and found a perfect spot to worship.  I turned the radio up loud and sang as the colors glowed in the sky.  I felt a peace come over me, and every care I had faded away with the daylight.

And the intimate evening sunset “worship” service was spectacular 🙂

Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe,  for our

“God is a consuming fire.”  

Hebrews 12:28-29

IMG_5298

His word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones.

I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.  

Jeremiah 20:9

 

2 responses to “Burning embers

  1. Beautiful post. I can relate to worship under God’s skies as the ultimate “sanctuary”

    Like

Leave a Reply

