I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

“Come Undone”… a song I wrote about letting go and learning to worship

on September 2, 2015

I’m standing on the wall 

will You catch me if I fall?

if I come undone for You?

I’m ready to let go 

of everything I know 

and come undone for You

I want to come undone

come undone for You 

strip away anything

hindering Your truth

I want to come undone

come undone for You

take away everything

that holds me back from You 

I raise my hands in praise 

in Your presence, I’m amazed

I come undone for You

I want the world to know I sing

because of You, my Risen King

I come undone for You

I recently wrote this song as I remembered the first time I let go and raised my hand in a worship service.

I fought it for so long.  Too worried about what others might think, I suppressed the desire to go forward to pray during an alter call, or do anything that might draw attention to me during a worship service. What if people think I am weak, or needy…or even crazy!

When my youngest was a baby, I would occasionally sing on the worship team.  One Sunday morning, I felt the overwhelming desire to raise my hand as I sang a song.  I felt my heart racing and knew I had to be obedient.  I couldn’t do it alone, so I reached out and grabbed the hand of my friend who was singing beside me.  It might have seemed strange to some, but not to her- she smiled at me as we held hands and sang praises to Him that day.  It felt like a weight had been lifted off of me as I worshipped without reservation, and focused on nothing but praising Him. It was one of the first times I felt His presence as I sang.

It took years for Him to “undo” all my preconceived ideas about “worship”- what I thought it should sound and look like. The day I grabbed my friend’s hand was when I began to let go of my own hang-ups and when I started to truly “worship”.  My heart’s desire is to know Him more intimately and to worship Him in Spirit and in truth.

       For God is Spirit, so those who worship Him must worship in spirit and in truth.            John 4:24

15 responses to ““Come Undone”… a song I wrote about letting go and learning to worship

  1. Kip says:

    You have a gift!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. realchange4u says:

    So true Julie. We worship God in everything we do,or we should. As a man in his sixties I can tell you that I want to shout and run when I worship my savior. Following what God says instead of what others do will always yield his presence. Which is so precious. Also when we worship freely and in truth it encourages others to do the same. It is sad that a lot of churches today discourage true worshipping of God. It is just a program for sake of time. Thank you for sharing and being honest.

    much love Tom

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Oh, there are days I wish I could jump up and dance and shout, too! I play piano as I sing and lead worship at church- so I’m limited by that. I do on occasion get out from behind it and sing, but not often 🙂 Having gone to school for music, it was a hard transition going from everything having to be a “polished performance” to just simply using music to worship the Lord. Thanks for always sharing your thoughts and for your encouragement!! I pray that you are having a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful song, sis 🙂 as always. Really love your song and also your voice. You have a wonderful blessings and gift from God to worship Him. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful as always 🙂

    I still struggle lifting my hands. Somehow subconsciously when the music starts I always assume the stance my choir master had us take when I was a kid lol. I get over it sometimes though

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Lol!! I know that “choir stance” well!! It took me years to let go of all of that (even though there is still a time and place for that, too!) I play piano at church while I sing, so there’s not a whole lot of hand-raising from me…but I do it whenever He nudges me too 🙂 Hope you are doing well!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Loved it, Julie. Really beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lorriebowden says:

    Thank you for this gift, Julie!!! I love your beauty that shines when you worship from your soul…proudly!! ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

