I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Fretting

on August 26, 2015

worship763c42eee263343cdff439baa

Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life?  Luke 12:25

For many years, I thought that worrying was equated with love- and that worrying was a good thing. After all, you don’t worry about something that isn’t important to you- or to someone you love.

It’s been a long, arduous process, but I am learning to drop those worries on His door step, one by one.  But some days I pick them back up.

And that’s what happened to me recently.

Nothing of great importance, but lots and lots of little things creeped into my thoughts and I found myself fretting over everything– and I mean EVERYTHING.

Doesn’t it seem like everything falls apart all at once?  That’s what happened in my home.  I tell my husband all the time that I am not good at being an “adult”.  As crazy as it sounds, even something as simple as calling a repair person to come fix an appliance gives me anxiety.

Philippians 4:6- be anxious for nothing

As the worship team and I were practicing and preparing for the service on Sunday, I found myself once again fretting and worrying about so many little things.  The song we were practicing was called “Cast My Cares”.  Tears started to flow down my cheeks as I played the piano and made mistake after mistake.  I stopped in the middle of the song and said we had to start again- and that it was all my fault.

 Instead of casting my cares on Him-  I had spent an entire week worrying. And it’s like a snowball… the worries start out small, but one leads to another and before you know it, it’s a GIANT out-of-control snowball rolling down a hill.  All week long I practiced and sang the words of that song, and yet I had not heeded it’s message.

In those few seconds before we played the song again, I surrendered ALL my worries to Him.  And just like that- I was able to freely worship!

The picture and quote at the top of the page is one that I saw this morning, and these words hit me like a ton of bricks-

we can’t worry and worship at the same time.

Worrying doesn’t help anything- and it doesn’t change our circumstances.  Worry leads to doubt… and when we worry, we’re not trusting God and His Word.

Instead of being a “worrier”- I want to be a warrior for Him!

‘Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’  Isaiah 41:10

 *image and quote found on http://bootcampbarre.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/worship763c42eee263343cdff439baa.jpg

15 responses to “Fretting

  1. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    “Instead of being a “worrier”- I want to be a warrior for Him!” JH

    How about you? Wouldn’t you enjoy being a warrior instead?!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kcg1974 says:

    A beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Donna Kenward says:

    Beautiful! Turning it over to Him releases those worries it’s true but it also upsets Satan!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lorriebowden says:

    Ah! Julie…beautiful reminder my friend. I am sometimes completely amazed at all I can find to worry about…when I KNOW from past experiences my whole life…that it is wasted time and energy!! We all take little ‘walkabouts’ but when we come back I feel we are so much stronger in our faith! I am happy you relinquished all that worry for peace!!! Much love to you my friend ♡♡

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Those little worrisome things start out so small…and my fears are always far worse than reality. And when I procrastinate at doing something, it only draws out the length of time I think about it. Today I have successfully traded worry in for His peace…and it is a beautiful day 🙂 thanks for always sharing your thoughtful words! Love to you!

      Like

      • lorriebowden says:

        Makes me wonder why we would EVER procrastinate or worry, Julie. But I am the same. I spent a lifetime trying to be prepared for every possible outcome…and it is not only exhausting but it never happens the way I think it will…it always happens better!! Here’s to living in faith and throwing away all worry! Have a wonderful weekend! ❤

        Like

  5. realchange4u says:

    Praise God for wisdom to know when we are wrong track and the courage to turn it around. Resting in him. I really did soak this one up Julie. Too much down time when I am worrying.Blessings to you. May joy and glad tidings be yours day to day.

    Joy to you

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks, Tom! I am getting better at recognizing when I am not being obedient. There is a line from the Streams in the Desert devotional book that says something like this- nothing blesses the one who prays as much as an offering of praise. When I truly turn my heart to Him to worship and praise, the worries are instantly gone. More of Him…less of me 🙂 blessings to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Codi says:

    Love the end quote: warrior instead of worrier. That’s good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

