I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

hummingbirds and being still…

on August 18, 2015

IMG_5024

 fluttering wings 

impressive speed

they hover, they wait

for their turn to feed 

IMG_5033

sounds like helicopters

buzz through the sky

is it a bird? a plane?

it’s a hummingbird passing by…

IMG_5036

 they give and they take

without worry or care

having faith that their portion 

will always be there 

I had the pleasure of spending a few moments with a dear friend of mine. She’s a kindred spirit and someone I affectionately refer to as one of my “church mommas”.

Having grown up in a big city, bird-watching and gardening were never high priorities for me.  One of the best things about moving out to the country is the ability to slow down just a little and take in the sights and sounds of nature.

My friend happened to call me when I was running here, there, and everywhere- and she asked if I wanted to stop by her house to get some fresh vegetables from her garden. I knew I didn’t have much time, but I told her I’d stop by for a few minutes.

IMG_5042

which turned into a little bit more than a few minutes…

IMG_5044because I couldn’t stop watching those hummingbirds and butterflies fly around!

We sat on the porch together and watched those little birds zoom back and forth to the feeders and I was completely fascinated by them.

I noticed how they seemed to stop in mid air while they waited for their turn to drink from the hanging feeders. Their little wings fluttered so fast that you couldn’t even see them.

They were working harder being still and waiting than they were flying around!

Being still is an action that takes intentional effort

As I sat there on the porch with my friend, all the things I needed to get done that afternoon paled in comparison to what I was doing- being “still”…spending time in fellowship with my “church momma” and taking in the beautiful day He made for us.

Let all that I am wait quietly before God,  for my hope is in him.  

Psalm 62:5

13 responses to “hummingbirds and being still…

  1. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    “They were working harder being still and waiting than they were flying around! Being still is an action that takes intentional effort” (JH)
    Are you, am I willing to work for the stillness needed to know His presence?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. realchange4u says:

    So glad you took the time to slow down and feed yourself with some calm and peace. I live to get closer to God through His creation. Thank to for sharing this with us Julie.

    Much love Tom

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thank you, Tom 🙂 Now that my girls are back in school, it seems like life is busy, busy again…but time stands still when I am watching His creation. I told my friend that day that I could have sat there for hours with her watching those humming birds! He really does make beautiful things, doesn’t He! Singing and watching nature is when I feel most at peace and closest to Him. Hope you have a wonderful weekend 🙂

      Like

  3. lorriebowden says:

    You incredibly sweet soul!!! Thank you for this most beautiful post…I simply adored everything about it from your “Church Momma” to the hummingbirds and butterflies to your message of “being still is an action that takes intentional effort!” Much love to you, Julie….have a super blessed day! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a great post. Glad you made the effort to “be still.” I am trying to do better myself in that regard. God’s beauty in the garden can make us stop, reflect and put things in proper perspective. Peace to you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kev says:

    It’s lovely to take in our surrounding and enjoy God’s gifts to us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

