I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

We’ve all got stories

on July 8, 2015
FullSizeRender

a GREAT story-telling spot in the Blue Ridge Mountains…

We’ve all got stories

stories that need 

telling 

but every story worth 

telling 

needs

someone who will

stop

and listen

Have you seen the movie “The Wedding Singer”?  Drew Barrymore’s character is named Julia, which I can identify with- because even though my name is Julie- my grandfather (and several other people) have always called me Julia!  Well, my husband likes to joke that I’m the “funeral singer”.  I have sung at many funerals and while it may sound strange, it has been one of the greatest blessings to be able to minister to families in this unique way. 

I sang at a recent service, and when it was over, I gave my condolences to the family members. It was drizzly outside, and so I began to head up the hill to where my car was parked. I had several things to get done that afternoon and I was mentally going over my to-do list. I noticed an older gentlemen standing tall, nicely dressed, looking out over the cemetery. I felt the Lord nudge me to go talk to him.  I walked up to him and stuck out my hand and introduced myself. He gave me the biggest smile and began talking about his family and sharing all sorts of stories about them. He was close to 80 years old, and his memory was impeccable.

As I stood there, the Lord impressed upon me how important it was for this gentleman to have my time-my full attention– and just how much he needed his story to be heard. Nothing I had to do was as important as giving this gentleman my listening ear in that moment. 

He shared many stories, and at one point, I wondered if the stories would ever converge. After a few minutes, he told me that God has always been so good to him and that God’s grace had followed him all the days of his life, even before he was born- even in uniting his parents.  As he continued to talk, I thought about how special it is to hear these stories and to realize that this complete stranger suddenly seemed like part of my “family”.  And in that moment, I realized that we were “family”- both having the same Heavenly Father.

God reminded me that as a minister, being present and listening to others is one of the most valuable things we can do, and how sometimes He asks me to not say a word

to just listen and shine His light. 

My Christian brothers, you know everyone should listen much and speak little.  

James 1:19

12 responses to “We’ve all got stories

  1. ColorStorm says:

    We’re on the same page; I just read your take on the older man and the funeral. Nice.
    And beautiful gift of ministering.

    Good for you julie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Sometimes I find myself getting caught up in whatever I have to do next that I am not focusing on the person right in front of me. I told him what a blessing it was to hear his testimony that day. It is good to slow down and listen… thanks for your encouragement 🙂

      Like

  2. I love that story. And that you felt God telling you to talk with him. Good for you that you didn’t back down!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Trini Lind says:

    I love this! I have met so many people like that lovely man and heard so many stories! Incredible amazing stories about love and courage. Those stories are blessings to me ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks, Trini!! It was such a blessing to hear his story that day… about how his parents grew up in different countries, and both came over to the U.S. and then met over 100 years ago. I love stories, too 🙂 Blessings to you, my friend!!

      Like

  4. Lovely, lovely post. I love how you made yourself available to God’s prodding and just allowed yourself to “be there” for someone else. What a great example. thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks, Lilka. Sometimes I get so caught up in the next thing I need to get done that I miss out on these moments. Talking to him was a real blessing for me that day 🙂 hope your weekend is a great one!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Kev says:

    Yes, sometimes all people need is someone to listen. It’s good to put aside one’s own worries and cares to listen to someone else’s. One of the greatest rewards I’ve received, is the realisation, we are not so alone after all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

