I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Nothing is wasted

on June 22, 2015
FullSizeRender

A shoe box transformed into a perfect refrigerator

I went to the playroom one day

I looked at the junk in dismay

what’s up with this trash

that my children have stashed?

Calgon, please take me away! 

I went into my girls’ playroom the other day and I was completely disgusted.  There was not a single square foot that wasn’t covered in junk.  Barbies, clothes, furniture, scraps of material, papers, newspapers, cardboard… the list of junk went on and on.  I took the trash can and began to fill it. My youngest daughter immediately heard what I was doing and threw herself onto the heaps of trash.

She cried and pleaded with me not to throw the stuff away.

When I looked around, I saw nothing but bits of trash and junk, but my daughter saw endless possibilities.  She saw unmade furniture, scraps of fabric that she was going to make into dresses… and boxes- lots of boxes- to be transformed into the most magnificent Barbie appliances and bunk beds!

I glanced over at my girls’ hand-made doll house (out of boxes) and really looked at the contents inside. I have to be honest- I was pretty impressed with their creativity.  It’s not that they don’t have store-bought things to play with…they just prefer to create things.

FullSizeRender_2

perfectly crafted Barbie bunk-beds

FullSizeRender_3

A bathroom… complete with a satin shower curtain, commode, and decorative sink

IMG_4631

dining room table with table cloth…and a few pets

I sat there and really took in their creations.  Isn’t that what God does with us?  He takes us and our limited resources and He turns them into something extraordinary!  When I see a shoe box, I wonder how fast I can put it into the trash- my girls see a shoe box and they think of how they can transform it.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.  Isaiah 55:8-9

We can’t even fathom the good things God can create with the “junk” in our own lives…when we commit every part of ourselves and every circumstance into His hands- He has a way of creating something beautiful out of us.

FullSizeRender_4

my daughters’ perfectly crafted, home-made Barbie house

 With all this going for us, my dear, dear friends, stand your ground. And don’t hold back. Throw yourselves into the work of the Master, confident that nothing you do for him is a waste of time or effort. 1 Corinthians 15:58

12 responses to “Nothing is wasted

  1. atimetoshare says:

    How cool that God can take a piece of junk like me and use me for His purposes. I love your analogy here!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    God uses everything in our life to guide us into HIS perfect will, as He sees the glory of Christ revealed in us. This blog entry gives us just a little glimpse into that expression through the creative sense and ability of Julie’s girls.

    Like

  3. Terri says:

    Wow I really loved your thoughts today, I also love your girls Barbie house, they sure have great imaginations!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks, Terri! They have every Barbie thing imaginable- and yet it’s the things that they make that they want to play with the most, lol! Thanks for your encouraging words and many blessings to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. realchange4u says:

    Awwww bless their hearts. How cool is that. I love to repurpose almost anything. I call it a bone pile. Carolyn detest it and keeps her I on it to make sure it dose not grow out of hand. Love the imagination in folks. I see treasure. I am trying theses days to be thankful for all the small things Jesus allows me to do for him. I stand amazed at what God has done in my life. Thank you for such a encouraging post.

    Joy to you

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Bone pile- never heard of that! Amen to being thankful for the small things :). I, too, look back and see how awesome He has been to me- even when I was unaware of Him… Such a wonderful Father we all have! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! Blessings to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. lorriebowden says:

    I can’t begin to tell you how much I love your daughters!!!! And this post! Have a super weekend, Julie!!! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

