I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Two Years and still singing

on June 18, 2015
FullSizeRender

A little bird on a wire singing praises…

there once was a bird on a wire

he looked as though he’d never tire

he sang his sweet song

praised the Lord all day long

the sounds of creation inspire!

If you really knew me, you’d know that I get bored of things very easily. Last week was the two year anniversary of starting this blog- which is quite an accomplishment for myself.  Routine is not something I am good at, and routines often make me feel like a bird in a cage.

But I have found freedom in the routine of coming here to write- because God is good,  He is faithful, and He is always teaching me something… 

My youngest daughter came to me last evening to ask me a question.  I noticed that her eyes were welled up with tears.

“Why are you crying, babe?” I asked her.

“I cry when I sing, momma.”

“What were you singing?”  I asked her.

“A song I made up.”  She smiled and gave me the most earnest look.

“Will you sing it for me?”  She shook her head no.  “Please? Pretty please?”  Again, she shook her head no.

I let it go- even though I wanted to hear her song more than anything at that moment. She sat at my computer and began playing a game. I sat at the piano behind her and began playing worship songs.

I sang quietly as I played.  “Beautiful One, I love…Beautiful One, I adore…” and ever so softly, I heard her little voice sing in unison with mine. She couldn’t resist joining me, and hearing her sing made me cry.

As I listened to her, I was reminded that I am just like my daughter.  Who am I kidding?! I’m still afraid to share my thoughts and songs with others, but where there is fear- there is freedom in Christ. So often I write… and because I think it isn’t “good enough”- I don’t share it.  Just as I longed to hear my daughter’s song- there is someone longing to hear yours…and mine.

He inspires me to keep on creating, writing, and to keep on singing… for His glory! He wants us to share with others what He has done in our lives- and that’s always something worth writing about!

There is someone out there-even if it’s one person- who needs to hear your story and your song. He wants to use you, speak through you, and He wants to shine through your broken pieces- so that others may see Him!

In my distress I prayed to the Lord,
    and the Lord answered me and set me free.
The Lord is for me, so I will have no fear.
    What can mere people do to me?  Psalm 118:5-6

14 responses to “Two Years and still singing

  1. alesiablogs says:

    What a lovely post and heartfelt. Nothing touches a mother more than their children. What a good way to celebrate where your blog and words have taken you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks, Alesia! You know, I learn far more from my girls than I could ever teach them! Watching them at times is like reliving my own childhood because both of them are so much like me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • alesiablogs says:

        That is so sweet. I am reminded of when I was a pastors wife watching the children in the nursery. It was so much fun watching little ones capture my heart with a memorable moment. But oh so much joy following our own children’s path.. I have sons and guess what !! They are like me too! The poor fellows!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Julie Harris says:

        Lol!! Well, if they got your talents for photography and for writing, that’s an awesome thing!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • alesiablogs says:

        The youngest is on full scholarship!! I am proud of him. Luke of course is severely disabled but smarter than me!!! Hope your day is great there…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. lorriebowden says:

    Hi Julie….I love this post so full of inspiration. It has special meaning to me as I had a crazy dream last night…I dreamt I had entered a writing competition and a man told me it was terrible and that I shouldn’t waste my time…I couldn’t accept that answer…he said there are 14 points that the writing is judged on and that my piece failed ALL 14!! It was so disturbing. I’m not sure why I would dream this…but I keep telling myself today that I don’t write to win competitions…I write because it touches my heart and I hope the hearts of others. I hope that you start to publish all the things that you have held back, and that you don’t feel the desire to hide any of it!! Much love and many blessings to you ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Oh, Lorrie- what an awful dream! I have those sorts of dreams all the time… “I don’t write to win competitions…I write because it touches my heart…” so, so true, Lorrie! Thank you for your encouragement and for always sharing words of wisdom! I hope you are doing well and that you are feeling well!! (((hugs)))

      Like

  3. This blog is beautiful. It takes my breathe away, brings Gods Presence as I read these words. They are full of worship. Don’t quit.
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Deborah, thank you for your encouraging words…they mean so much to me! He means everything to me and my heart’s desire is to honor Him in every area of my life and to do all He asks of me. Thank you again for always encouraging me.. your words are a blessing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. realchange4u says:

    You touched my heart with your stories both of them. I needed to here this today. I have quit writing so much and have started pushing in to my relationship with God and other’s. After reading your post.I wonder of that is a wise decision. Writing gives me a way to touch other’s and put my thoughts in order. As you said it is our way of glorifying God and what he had done in our life’s also.

    It is so precious to see and acknowledge those moments when our children are saying something that we have to open or heats and ears to here. It is always worth the effort.
    Julie thank you for your openness and willingness to share your life with us. Real folks are hard to find these days.

    Joy to your family and happy father’s day to your husband

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      ((hugs)) You words have made my day 🙂 I noticed that I haven’t seen many posts from you… keep on telling your story! The posts you have written have touched my heart-even though I am not so good at commenting. Funny thing is that I second guess everything I write- and that also goes for when I comment on other people’s blogs!! I will type something and then erase it for fear that my words aren’t coming out right, lol!! Last year, the Lord put this verse on my heart- “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind”- 2 Timothy 1:7. I guess He is showing me that He’s still working on me in that way…we are a continuous WIP- work in progress 🙂 Thanks for being you, and for taking the time to leave your wise words… Happy Father’s Day to you, as well, and God bless you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Kev says:

    Congratulations Julie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

