I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

When I have no songs

on June 2, 2015
IMG_4568

Sunset from our last night of vacation…

when I have no songs

I turn to the Song-Giver

who sings over me

A most peculiar thing happens to me sometimes – I lose my singing mojo. I have always loved music, and I pretty much sing my way through the ENTIRE day… I mean that EVERY SINGLE THING reminds me of a song, and then that song plays in my head like a sound track- a hodge podge of worship songs, hymns, ’80’s and ’90’s pop music… mixed with musical numbers and showtunes… and classical. But lately, I haven’t had the energy to sing.  All songs sound the same and even the sound of my own voice makes me cringe. So, I knew it was time for me to take a music break.

And it was the PERFECT TIME for my family and I to go on a vacation! I have been praying for God to give me passion for singing again- and a passion to make music.  I have prayed and recited Zephaniah 3:17 over and over these past couple of weeks… God, I need You to sing joyful songs over me… I need You to quiet me with Your love…

 About halfway through our vacation, I prayed for Him to give me a song to sing. Without giving it a second thought, I began singing the song 10,000 Reasonsover and over. As I walked each morning, as I laid on the beach… every moment He inspired me to sing- that was the only song that came. But I finally felt like singing again!

Since we were still out of town on Sunday, it was the perfect opportunity for me to visit a different church. I had been looking forward to going to this church all week!!  I am so blessed to be on staff at our church and to lead our worship ministry, but being able to visit another church during our vacation and just worship was a wonderful experience for me.

I stood in the sanctuary as the singing floated in the air. I watched with joy as the worship team on the stage poured their hearts out to God. I closed my eyes and just let Him sing over me.

And then they began to sing Mighty to Save.  Wouldn’t you know that the very scripture I have been praying for the last two weeks is in this song!  It was as if God had put that song in that service just for me.

The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”  Zephaniah 3:17

It soon came time for the offering and I sat and bowed my head as the pastor prayed.  I felt my heart race as I heard the beginning chords of the next song…

“Bless the Lord, O my soul…”

I had to smile-  10,000 Reasons- the only song He had put on my heart to sing ALL WEEK while I was away…Out of all the thousands of songs they could have sang that morning- what are the chances of a coincidence like that happening?!

Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you- Matthew 7:7

Not only does He sing over me– He fills me, renews me, loves me…and He meets me in the most magnificent ways!  He is so faithful to meet our every need!  He even answered my simple prayer of giving me a song to sing… He is Mighty to Save and I praise Him for loving me enough to always meet me where I’m at.

When I have no songs… He is faithful to put a new song in my heart!

He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the LORD and put their trust in Him.  Psalm 40:3

19 responses to “When I have no songs

  1. lorriebowden says:

    Ah! Julie…your faith and love show such strength!! It saddens me a little that the beautiful songbird lost her joy to sing…but ahhhh…it returned in such a beautiful way!!! Yes dear heart…everything is as it should be. I’m so happy for you…I can feel the positive, loving, faithful energy rising up from you ♡♡♡

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thank you, Lorrie! Sometimes I am just melancholy…but He is always faithful to restore my soul :). Hope you are feeling better!! Much love to you!!

      Like

      • lorriebowden says:

        I understand Julie…completely! Thank you for your support and for the gifts you bring to the world! I am working through my healing…on many levels and I so appreciate the love of this community! Blessings♡♡

        Like

  2. hrh7 says:

    Our GOD is faithful. All the time

    Liked by 1 person

  3. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    Will you persist even when the songs have left you? Julie in her candor shares how GOD is faithful. Will you long for Him when your deepest joy eludes you? A great testimony of His faithfulness and restoration is shared here…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We love that song
    Beautiful post. You blessed me. Thank you for writing it.
    http://www.talkingtyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. realchange4u says:

    Got me to dancing. I think of the song I will praise him in the streets, I will praise him in the sanctuary. Oh! Oh! my God is worthy to be praised…. Carolyn and I will visit churches when we are traveling. Always aa wonderful experience . Such a encouraging word. In these days last days God needs folks that will join and be faithful in good army. Thank you for sharing this Julie

    Peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      I don’t think I know that song! I will have to look it up! It is amazing the connection we share with other believers…that we can worship together without knowing anything about one another and praise the Lord together…it was a beautiful service!! Thanks so much for your encouragement :). When I realized the significance of the songs that were sung- I wanted to get up and dance, too!! God is good -all the time!!!

      Like

    • realchange4u says:

      I have to get me a new keyboard. This one spells what it wants to 😁.

      Like

  6. SilviaLedon says:

    I love this! I can relate. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Like

  7. Kev says:

    Bless you, Julie. It’s kind of like writer’s block for the author… I went for years without writing a song, it’s only been in the past couple of years that I started writing songs again. 🙂 Glad you got your singing mojo back. 😀

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      It’s kind of like a part of you is missing when you have writer’s block… or singer’s block, lol! Yes, it is good to feel like myself again 🙂 How are you doing? Hope things are going well!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kev says:

        I feel kind of at a crossroads at the mo to be honest… thanks for asking btw. I’m trying to make my mind up about what I should be focusing on… fantasy sequel or music and nothing at all is really coming. Hence, how I could relate so easily to your post. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Julie Harris says:

        *sigh*…I can relate…I think it’s just part of having a creative mind…sometimes it wants to go in a thousand different directions- and then it seems like nothing gets 100% of my attention. Hoping you get your “mojo” back, too 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kev says:

        Lol. Thanks Julie… I’m sure it’ll kick in soon.

        Like

Leave a Reply

