I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Breath of Life

on March 20, 2015

O Breath of life, come sweeping through us,

Revive Your church with life and power;

O Breath of life, come cleanse, renew us,

And fit Your church to meet this hour.

O breath of life, come sweeping through us

O breath of life, come cleanse, renew us

O love of Christ, afresh to win us

fill us with Your holiness

O Wind of God, come bend us, break us,

Till humbly we confess our need;

Then in Thy tenderness remake us,

Revive, restore, for this we plead.

O Breath of love, come breathe within us,

Renewing thought and will and heart;

Come, Love of Christ, afresh to win us,

Revive Your church in every part.

(words by Bessie Head)

These beautiful words resonated with me years ago when I first heard them. Β The Lord put a “new song” on my heart and I set these lovely words to a new melody and new piano accompaniment. Β My heart longs for revival- for His Spirit to revive, restore, and renew us. Β May His breath of life fill us with passion and equip us for His service!

*If you would like chord charts for this song, email me and I will be happy to send them to you

25 responses to “Breath of Life

  1. atimetoshare says:

    This is so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lorriebowden says:

    Beautiful song bird…sweet Angel!!! Thank you for this gift ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ColorStorm says:

    That’s you singing and playing?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just beautiful – thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful and beautiful, Julie!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Melissa says:

    So awesome, God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kev says:

    Wow, Julie… What can I say, first of all kudos to Bessie Head for the wonderful lyrics. But, you have changed your piano technique… this seems more advanced and very nice indeed. Love it, love what you did with the song. Great stuff! I’m sure the lord is smiling down on you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks so much for your kind words, Kev! These words were written over 100 years ago! I actually wrote the music for this one several years ago and I hadn’t thought about it for a long time- until this week πŸ™‚ I love the old hymns- so full of truth! The words of this one really resonated with me. Speaking of music- I haven’t seen any new songs from you lately! Recorded any new ones recently? Hope you are doing well!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

