I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

If you feed them, they will come

on February 27, 2015
FullSizeRender

Two wren “love birds” on my deck

I can tell I am getting older- because I’m starting to enjoy doing weird things.  Ok, not completely weird– just different.

Like bird watching.

FullSizeRender

A wren and a cardinal at my new bird hang-out

 My girls came home the other day from a friend’s house with an entire box full of “bird food”- pine cones, smeared in peanut butter and then rolled in bird seed.  Yes, it was just as messy as it sounds.

Right before our first snowfall, I placed a few pinecones in each of the empty flower pots that sat on our deck.  We woke up one morning to a winter wonderland, and as I cooked breakfast, I heard the sweetest bird singing his little heart out.

Who knew?  If you feed them- they will come.

 Perched on the railing of our deck, he bobbed his head up and down as he sang out into the back yard.

I watched as his friends began to join him on the deck.

It was the coolest thing.  I just knew he was signaling his friends that he found food.  I cleaned up the dishes as I watched through the kitchen window.  Finches, bluebirds, wrens, and even a cardinal came to the feast.

I have begun to look forward to seeing these little guys every morning.  My husband jokingly asked me the other day if I have started naming them…. well, not yet, but now I’m thinking about it!

FullSizeRender

Bluebirds are a colorful favorite of mine

Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?  Matthew 6:26

FullSizeRender

This little one sings his heart out every morning!!

It makes me wonder what else I have been missing out on all these years.  All it took was a little effort on my part, and the return on JOY I have received has been twofold!  And to think- these birds have been here all along….all it took was a little bit of seed-throwing and now they are a lovely part of my day.

Remember this–a farmer who plants only a few seeds will get a small crop. But the one who plants generously will get a generous crop.  2 Corinthians 9:6

9 responses to “If you feed them, they will come

  1. I can so relate to this Julie.

    I find immense joy watching God’s critters. Their carefree manner makes me take a minute to “enjoy life” I have one cardinal in particular I love to watch but thus far have not been able to snap his picture! And yes you will eventually name them… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      It is so fun listening to them sing and watching them interact with one another! That’s interesting about your cardinal- the ones I see usually fly away as soon as I get to my window! They must be very observant 🙂 No names… yet!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Andy Oldham says:

    Isn’t bird watching a blast? Great shot! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ropheka says:

    I enjoy going to a quiet stream in the forest just before sunrise and sitting there. It always starts with just one little bird and then there is a chorus of many birds and in the spring summer and fall the crickets and frogs all singing praise to Jehovah. It is better than any song I have heard in church.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. aboutwhatnot says:

    They have such beautiful colors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

