I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

All Dried Up

on January 20, 2015

FullSizeRender

At first glance it seems as if 

it doesn’t stand a chance

all dried up and withered

due to “desert” circumstance

I admit, I haven’t been

as faithful in its care

I left it by itself

as if it wasn’t even there

but as I take a closer look

a new bud, do I see?

I think it’s not done living yet-

A second chance for me!

IMG_3398I actually cleaned today.  Yes- that’s a small victory worth writing about in itself.  In the process, I thought I’d “clean up” this poinsettia that seemed destined for the dump.  Remember when I predicted the demise of my gorgeous poinsettia  before Christmas?  Well, I had given up and was ready to send it on it’s way to the trash.

I carefully sat the plant in the kitchen sink- after my daughter helped me clear away all the dirty dishes, and I picked each dead leaf off, one by one.  Crinkly, colorless, and void of any life- these dead leaves willingly fell into my hands.  As I cleared all the dead stuff away, to my surprise- I noticed that there were signs of new growth at the top.

So I cleaned it up, watered it, and left it in a sunny spot.

I thought about how much easier my own life would be it I would willingly get rid of things that are keeping me from growing.

I sat the poinsettia back onto my table, knocking over one of my favorite coffee cups. It was broken beyond repair. I have had this cup for over 15 years. It was given to me by a student on my last day of student teaching when I was in college.  I felt like I never really connected with these high school kids, and because of that- I thought of myself as a failure.  Until one of the students came up to me and gave me this coffee cup and a balloon.

It meant the world to me. It was proof that I had mattered to someone.  I’ve drank coffee from that cup nearly every day for the last 15 years.  And for the past 15 years, I’ve also held onto that feeling of “failure”- as unfounded as it was.  So, as I cleaned up my mess and threw the cup in the trash, I agreed to let go of that memory, too.

So, I’m throwing away the “dried up” thoughts and memories that are holding  me down, and throwing away the “dried up” leaves that are preventing new growth on this plant that is still hanging on!

Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead  Philippians 3:13

15 responses to “All Dried Up

  1. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    “So, I’m throwing away the “dried up” thoughts and memories that are holding me down, and throwing away the “dried up” leaves that are preventing new growth on this plant that is still hanging on!” ~JH

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kcg1974 says:

    Cheers to your ‘New Growth,” and a lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. atimetoshare says:

    Really nice post. What a great analogy. Would you believe my Christmas tree is still up complete with half of its ornaments? I love hanging on to it for a while, but mid January – REALLY? I guess I could use it as an Easter egg tree. Sometimes we need to let go of the past and put things away. Have a blessed day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Lol! We still have a white Christmas tree up in our basement! I call it the “snow tree”. It usually stays up until I know there will be no more chances for snow :). Easter ornaments would be fun!! Let me know if you decide to re-decorate your tree, lol!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • atimetoshare says:

        Actually I felt so guilty about it I tok all the ornaments off and my husband tucked away in the attic for another year!

        Like

  4. Touching post, Julie. This year get out of your boundaries and stretch and see what amazing things God will do with you. You are such a blessing to many. Now, go forth my girl. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kev says:

    I love poinsettias! Great analogy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

