I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

All to Him I owe

on January 5, 2015

 

20150102_120514

simple reminders

of the price He paid for me-

a thorn-adorned tree

As my husband and I walked our dog down the street, I noticed this bare tree- one I have passed countless times.  But today, as I looked through it’s spindly branches, they resembled thorns.

“Jesus paid it all, all to Him I owe…”

That lovely old hymn played on repeat in my head all afternoon.

20150102_120527

I thought about all the times I jokingly tell my husband that he owes me for this or that…you know- for those little “good deeds” we do for one another. Like all the times I let him choose the movie we are going to watch, or the times I let him decide what “take-out” we order for dinner. If I am honest with myself, sometimes I do it with an expectation in mind. If I do for him… then he must reciprocate.  

And the great thing is that most of the time that happens. But what about when I do good deeds for friend, acquaintances, or random strangers?  Am I expecting something in return?

Sometimes I do. But staring at that tree today reminded me that He has already paid the price in full.  No one ever owes me anything.

20150102_120458

Every good thing I do for anyone-

even my husband-

should be done only out my love and obedience to Christ, and never for what’s in it for me.

One of the hardest things for me to let go of is my expectations of others. There have been many times when I have reached out, given to others, done some kind thing for someone- and it has gone unnoticed. Not even a thank-you.  And I admit, that sometimes I have been disappointed.  But He continues to remind me to “mind the nudges”, do whatever He asks, and to leave the rest to Him.

So let each one give as he purposes in his heart, not grudgingly or of necessity; for God loves a cheerful giver.  2 Corinthians 9:7 

But as I stared at those thorns on the tree today, I thought about how how He poured His life out on that cross for each of us- wearing a crown of thorns- expecting nothing in return.

Observe how Christ loved us. His love was not cautious but extravagant. He didn’t love in order to get something from us but to give everything of himself to us. Love like that.  Ephesians 5:2 msg

Lord, help me to live and love with the kind of extravagance that You have shown me. May I put my faith and my hope in only You!  Help me to give with hands and arms wide open, and to do it with a cheerful heart!

Jesus paid it all, all to Him I owe

Sin had left a crimson stain-

He washed it white as snow.  

 

15 responses to “All to Him I owe

  1. Great message this morning, Julie. I understand what you mean. I don’t expect paid back for most good deeds but at least an acknowledgement. I remember spending the day on my tractor when it was -20 with 2 feet of snow on the ground. I dug every home on my road out and never received even a wave. People are funny and yet many times we do the same to God. A good lesson I was taught that day. Have a great day!!! 🙂

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      “People are funny and yet many times we do the same to God.”- wow…that was a powerful statement!! And digging out everyone’s driveway in -20 degree weather is definitely a good deed worth acknowledging! I know He was smiling down on you that day 🙂 I hope you have had a wonderful Christmas and New Years!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Julie. We had great holidays. But, I’m glad they are over and things get back to normal. Lol. Everything is put up for another year and I’m preparing for NY. Have a great week. I did love your post. Lord bless you!!!

        Like

  2. paulfg says:

    Keep walking, please. You see stuff I don’t even notice. Thank you.

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      You know, it’s been so chilly here lately that I have not been out walking as much. I definitely need to get back out there more. The neat thing is that seeing the “thorns” on the tree lead to my husband and I having the most awesome conversation over lunch that day…I love how He shows up and intertwines us all in the most interesting ways!

      Like

  3. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    “He continues to remind me to “mind the nudges”, do whatever He asks, and to leave the rest to Him.” ~JH
    “…and to do it with a cheerful heart!” Such a great post!

    Like

  4. Excellent. It’s all about that spiritual perspective.

    Like

  5. Shanda says:

    Amen! Thanks for the post.

    Like

  6. Kim says:

    Beautiful message! Extravagant love… this is His love for us. And I share that prayer too… to live and love without a need for repayment knowing Christ has paid it all. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

