I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Being remade…and a song I wrote about it

on December 31, 2014

 “Remade”

I used to live my life so unaware

I didn’t know You or that You’d care

About my thoughtless sin and casual lies

until the day You opened up my eyes

and the moment I knew what I’d done

the price had already been paid by Your Son

May I never forget what You’ve done

May I never forget who I was

before You changed me and made me new

You were there all along when I couldn’t see

By Your grace, You’ve remade me

Now that I know what You want from me

Help me, make me who I need to be

You know I can’t do this on my own

So I lay my burdens down before Your throne.

I give You everything that I am

I surrender to Your every plan.

And You’ve given me a reason to sing

Lord, I give You my everything.

A while back, I had lunch with a good friend who has known me for quite some time. Our lunch is what inspired me to write this song.  As we talked about our walks with Christ, she smiled at me and told me that she remembers a time when I said I rarely (if ever) opened my Bible.  My first thought was- me?! I immediately felt grieved in my spirit- that I could have ever been so flippant about my faith, about the One I am so passionate about now.  And then I thought about how important it is for me to remember…to remember what it was like to be the “old me”…

Because that is what helps me relate to people who are too busy to attend church- because I used to be, too. I remember thinking about praying far more often than I actually prayed.  And worship- well, I used to think that was just another word for church.

And I thought of how He took ahold of my life and everything that I had known- and changed me.  It wasn’t an overnight transformation by any means… but all of a sudden, I didn’t want to do the things I did before.  I stopped cursing.  I started listening to the Christian Radio.  When my heart was awakened to His Spirit, and His love- I couldn’t get enough of Him.

I had been a Christian all of my life, but I didn’t know what it meant to be a “Christ-follower” until I was an adult.  I thought that simply believing in God and being a good person was all there was to it.  I went to church occasionally but it was not much more than an event to wear my new dress and to sing happy songs.  I was missing a key component- relationship.  Then one day, He came into my life in a way that I will never forget.  He changed me, my desires- and all those things I once held dear paled in comparison to knowing Him.  He was no longer this far-off God of judgement and condemnation… He was my loving Father, speaking to me through His Spirit, through His Word and quietly telling me to let go of my life- and to give it to Him. I wanted  whatever His will was for me.  And slowly, little by little, the more I grew to love Him, the more I wanted to honor Him in everything I did.

May I never forget what You’ve done

May I never forget who I was

before You changed me and made me new

You were there all along when I couldn’t see

By Your grace, You’ve remade me

Put on your new nature, and be renewed as you learn to know your Creator and become like him.  Colossians 3:10

16 responses to “Being remade…and a song I wrote about it

  1. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    “I was missing a key component- relationship.” ~JulieR Harris

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kev says:

    Wow, Julie… brought tears to my eyes. Not just the beautiful voice God has adorned you with, your skill with the piano… but the gift you have of turning a moment of your life into such a beautiful song.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks so much, Kev! I really appreciate your kind words 🙂 I am so thankful for the gift of music- and the way He has used music to draw me close to Him all these years… Hope you have a wonderful New Years!

      Like

  3. atimetoshare says:

    Your words ring true for me too. It has taken me a lifetime to really know my Savior and now i have to share him with others. He even has use for an old lady. It has been wonderful listening your songs and reading your words. May God continue to bless your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      As my pastor says- “the rest of your days can be the best of your days- with Christ!” What a blessing it is to serve Him- in any way- big or small 🙂 And if that is a current picture of you, you are far from being an old lady!! You are beautiful and I thoroughly enjoy reading your daily posts! Have a blessed New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ropheka says:

    I agree that I too was a Christian all my life but did not learn what it meant to be a Christ follower until an adult. Now I have come home for the first time in forty years and people do not know me because the Holy Spirit has changed me so much.

    Happy New Year

    Like

  5. Terri says:

    This is such a beautiful post and your song and then your words brought tears to my eyes. Your story reminds me how much my life has changed over the last 5 years now that I have Jesus in it. God bless you and Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lorriebowden says:

    So beautiful Julie!!! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

