I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Peace of Jesus

on December 29, 2014

IMG_3119

when strife comes my way

all I have to say is “yes”

to His perfect peace

  Sometimes I can feel the storms brewing between my two girls.  You know the warning signs… their talking gets a little faster, the volume becomes slightly elevated and higher in pitch…a door slams, and then the yelling ensues.  I can sense the changing winds, and sometimes there doesn’t seem to be any way for me to stop the inevitable storms from taking over my house.

And then I hear-

 “Mom!!!!!”

The three of us were busy getting the house in tip top shape, and these little storms kept brewing.  I went from one room to the other, aiding each daughter with their chores.  Having played referee one too many times, I was quickly reaching the end of my rope.

And then Jesus found me.

I had knelt down on the dining room floor to go through a random box of junk, and this little bookmark jumped into my hands…

FullSizeRenderMy peace I give you. John 14:27

Right on time.  Just the moment I was getting ready to lose my cool- that’s when He reins me in- right back to Him.

I thought about all the times I am not resting in His peace- always because of my own doing.  Peace is a gift that so many times I chose not to unwrap- because my SELF gets in the way.  And the times I am most frustrated are when I have my own agenda in mind.

So, I left the dining room and my agenda right there.

I didn’t get everything checked off my “to-do” list, but I managed to complete the most important task of the day-

saying “yes” to peace

and saying “yes” to Him.

13 responses to “The Peace of Jesus

  1. Just beautiful! I can’t imagine what I’d do without this indescribable peace that comes only from Him…

    Like

  2. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    “Saying yes to peace and saying yes to Him” ~JH

    Like

  3. osarobohenry says:

    Thank you so much Julie for following my blog. May the blessings of God rest upon you in the name of Jesus Christ.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. paulfg says:

    You have the best bookmarks!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Will says:

    God is our true peace,
    and He is our sure keeper
    when we ourselves are unpeaceful.
    – Julian of Norwich

    Like

  6. Thank you for visiting my blog and liking on of my posts. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I see you’ve come again. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

