I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Last to Fall

on December 8, 2014

FullSizeRender

some foliage may leap

at the first sign of autumn

while others will tarry

before hitting bottom

The leaves yet to fall

get a bird’s eye view

a forecasting of all

they’re jumping into

Growing up, I often felt like an outcast. Tall, overweight, pimply and awkward.  I was quite frequently the last one picked in school to be on any team of any kind.  One perks of not being “chosen” first was that I was able to observe and take in the scene- I have always loved people-watching! 

As I was out walking the other day, I noticed fields of gold crumpled leaves on the ground.  Almost all of them had already fallen, but there were just a few still clinging to the branches.  It was a beautiful sight. And it all reminded me that there is a season for everything… and that every dying leaf will eventually be “picked” off the tree.

And I am overwhelmed this morning knowing that all those years of feeling like the last one to be chosen- that I have been “picked” by Him, and that by His grace, I won’t fall into a pile of decaying, moldy leaves… but that I will be continually made new by His Spirit.  I have “fallen” for Him… There is a time for everything- and His time is always now!

I am loved, I am chosen, and I am His!

There is a time for everything,

and a season for every activity under the heavens- Ecclesiastes 3

11 responses to “The Last to Fall

  1. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    “There is a time for everything,

    and a season for every activity under the heavens- Ecclesiastes 3”

    Like

  2. Kim says:

    Amen! 🙂 Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

  3. Kev says:

    I love, There is a time… It’s one of my favourite passages.

    Like

  4. lorriebowden says:

    Beautiful Julie!! What a wonderful way to view this aspect of your life!!! ❤

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thank you, sweet Lorrie! Isn’t it amazing when we look back on our lives and see things in a different light? He is faithful and uses ALL things for His glory- the good and the bad in our lives. Hope you have had a super day!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Love this! We are loved, chosen, and His…Praise Him! Thank you Julie!

    Like

  6. Shanda says:

    Amen! beautiful post. Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

