I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em

on December 5, 2014

FullSizeRender

I have a little confession to make-

I do NOT like loud noises.  Of any kind.

As a former elementary music teacher, I remember the days of teaching eager budding musicians…the rite of passage for a 4th grader was getting their very own recorder and learning to play this instrument.  But learning to play any instrument is a painful process- and there is indeed a slight discomfort inflicted on the listener’s ears as their skills are “fine tuned”.  I heard many “skwaaaaks” in those years!

Now my youngest has received her very own recorder.  Knowing how much I love music, she is always eager to practice and play for me.  And I admit- she is quite good at it.  But it is loud.  Very loud.  And her favorite time to play is first thing in the morning- in the kitchen beside me as I make breakfast.

This morning was no different.  I woke up with a terrible back ache and not in the greatest mood.  I managed to wake the girls with my happy sing-song voice as I stumbled down the hallway and into the kitchen.  Both girls got up without even a second wake-up call from me.

As I scrambled eggs, my youngest pulled her recorder out.  I swear she was playing in my ear.  Every fiber of my being wanted to scream.  I calmly asked her to play it in her room while I was cooking.  Oddly enough, she did not challenge me and stopped playing.

FullSizeRender

A few minutes later, she returned with her recorder.

“Oh mommy– guess what I’ve got!”  she says to me with a sly smile.

She surprises me with a second recorder.  “Will you play with me?” she sweetly asked me.

And I couldn’t help but laugh.  As if one instrument making loud noise wasn’t enough- now she wanted me to double it.

So I picked it up and joined her in the Wacky March.  And to my surprise, she even taught me a harmony part!

“Momma- you play a G while I play a B here, ok?”

FullSizeRender And quickly my “tolerance” of her noise turned to acceptance. The “noise” turned into music…and the music turned into a symphony in our kitchen. I fell in love with my girl all over again.  When she wants to do something, she is relentless.  She has a passion that inspires me to be a better mom.  And instead of tolerating my children’s loud noise, sometimes I need to join in and see the symphony He is orchestrating in these moments!

How wonderful and pleasant it is
    when brothers (and sisters!) live together in harmony!  Psalm 133

17 responses to “If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em

  1. C.J. Penn says:

    What a beautiful story. Thanks so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    How quickly we are able to go from “rejection” to “acceptance” and in doing changes things! Awesome blog!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. popswally says:

    In “reblogging” your entry, I said how quickly… I realize with a headache, the return with the second recorder was probably all too quick and I’m sure the headache didn’t go running for the hills! Still I can imagine for those precious moments, God enabled you to “put the headache aside” just long enough to enjoy those moments. Thanks for sharing. AWESOME story!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. atimetoshare says:

    Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good one, Julie. A lot of music in your home. That’s great!!! Have a nice day and weekend!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Yes, there’s lots of music! I am blessed 🙂 My other daughter plays the flute and had her fall concert this past Tuesday. It was wonderful to see how far they have come in only a year’s time. Hope you have a great weekend!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. ropheka says:

    Treasure your time together when they are young and they will treasue their time with you when you are old

    Like

  7. Kev says:

    Now I wonder how the piano sounded when you first “played” it, Hmm? 😀 She looks like you. 🙂

    Like

  8. Kathleen says:

    Out of the mouth of babes! Thank you for sharing. Love and miss you guys.

    Like

  9. Will says:

    It seems it is love that turns noise into music . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

