I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Silver Linings

on December 2, 2014
FullSizeRender

stunning sunset…

Splendor in the sky

He exceeds expectations

with silver linings

FullSizeRender

captivating sky….

 I almost missed this-

brought to my attention by

my youngest daughter!

FullSizeRender

Psalm 19:1

From rising to setting sun, may the name of the LORD be praised.  Psalm 113:3

I am slowly learning to release all my expectations and to enjoy the moment.  Our “holiday” weekend was not a traditional one.  The four of us spent the entire Thanksgiving day together.  There was a time when that would have made me sad- thinking that it wasn’t really Thanksgiving unless everyone I called family was under the same roof.  But we had a wonderful day… filled with rest, relaxation, and quality family time.

I didn’t go out shopping on Black Friday, either.  I confess, it seemed like I was missing out on something. I leisurely woke up, drank my coffee, and snuggled on the couch with my girls.  There was no place I would have rather been!

We traveled to see my in-laws over the weekend. Against tradition, we all met at a restaurant for our “holiday” meal.  It was awesome!  No cooking, no clean-up…we were all able to enjoy the stress-free meal and fellowship together. I also got to spend time with my sister while we were back “home”. We had the best weekend!

And as we prepared to head home from visiting with family, my youngest daughter says to me, “Mom- you should look outside.  It’s really pretty.” The odd thing was, I didn’t see her get up from where she was sitting and the mini-blinds were pulled shut- so I don’t know how she knew about the sunset.

She got up, took my hand, and led me outside. I was stunned at how beautiful it was!  Before I knew it, all four of us were in the backyard, smiling and looking up at heaven.

One of the things that made the weekend special for me was my expectations.  I had none.  And to top it off, I didn’t even know the sun was setting as we were gathering our things to head home.

When I release my expectations and put them in His hands, He exceeds them- every time!

A family affair-

huddled close beneath His sky

we take a selfie…

FullSizeRender

5 responses to “Silver Linings

  1. Wow… these sunset pictures are breathtaking!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brilliant photos. I’m glad you were able to kick back and enjoy. Have a great week!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

