I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Gifts from my Grandmother

on November 28, 2014

FullSizeRender

Hands dance across keys 

where music breathes 

life

into my soul

Like a movie screen

my history is seen

upon these ivories

where memories are made

how I reminisce

and make believe

that she is sitting

here with me

oh the conversations I’ve played

loud and soft

slow and sweet

she and I-

that’s where we meet

on this weathered

piano seat

I was given the piano in the photo above by my grandmother as my wedding gift, almost 18 years ago. It was my great-grandmother’s, and she passed it down to my grandmother.  We lived nearly 5 hours away from her, so I really treasured our visits to her home.  One of the things that I couldn’t wait to do when we arrived was play her piano.  It had the warmest, richest tone and even my measly “hot-cross-buns” sounded like a symphony on it.  I didn’t get to see her very often, but she always held a special place in my heart.

Over the last 18 years, it has traveled up and down several flights of stairs, been played by hundreds of piano students, and has moved many times.  I purchased an antique baby grand piano about 5 years ago and thought about getting rid of my grandmother’s piano-

But I couldn’t.

Too many memories. It is the only thing that connects me to her.  She passed away nearly 15 years ago, and this was her gift to me. It was more than just a piece of furniture- it was part of my grandmother’s history.

And as strange as it may sound, when I sit at that piano, I feel close to her.  Sometimes in those moments, I go back into time and I am that little girl- wishing to play something to make Grandmother proud.

11 responses to “Gifts from my Grandmother

  1. I was raised in a musical family so I can understand the affinity of instruments. I love playing the piano and wish for my own again one day. Lovely poem 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂 I pulled out my Christmas books today and sat down to play…and I kept remembering little things about my Grandmother. I hope you get a piano of your own someday soon 🙂 Blessings to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A touching post, Julie. My great grandmother left me something that I could never part with that is very special to me. I understand completely. Thank you for reminding me of it tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks for sharing that, Levi 🙂 We had a quiet day at home and it was lovely- and I had lots of time to reminisce and play Christmas music. I wrote the poem today and shared with my girls little things I remembered about my Grandmother. Memories are wonderful things 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. T says:

    This is very beautiful post, I have my grandmother’s cedar chest, she gave it to me to use as a hope chest when I was a teen, I still have it and now it is full of memories such as pictures my kids drew in school etc. I hope to pass it along one day to one of my daughters. But for now I am not ready to give it away because it reminds me of her.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. georgetteann says:

    This is a beautiful tribute. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t believe you could part with such a precious gift. It’s almost as if you have a piece of her with you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

