I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Signs and wonders

on November 18, 2014
FullSizeRender

Cross in the sky

Signs and wonders in the sky

cross of hope displayed on high 

Your cross of glory, true and clear

The sound of silence in my ear

Peaceful beauty, Presence close

In You, and only You I boast

Signs and wonders in the sky

Your splendor captivates my eye

The ladies from our church went on a retreat this weekend.  There were so many wonderful moments, but this one was pretty awesome!  Several of us went up on a hill to watch the sun set over the Blue Ridge Mountains.  It was exceptionally chilly, but gorgeous!  When you reach the top of the hill, there is a 365 degree view of the mountains.

“The hills are alive, with the sound of music…”  I couldn’t help myself.  Each time I climbed up there, I had to burst into the song from the Sound of Music.  After all, it is my phone’s ringtone!   And the opening scene from the movie is exactly what it felt like being up there.

“Listen!” I said to my dear friend.

It was completely silent.  The atmosphere was so still, I could hear myself breathing.

  Overwhelming peace, and the presence of my Savior flooded my soul.

We quietly took pictures and my friend showed me her camera.  The camera showed a crystal-clear cross in the sky… but the strange thing was that looking in the sky, you could not see the horizontal line of the cross, only the vertical line.  And to the left of the cross, the wispy cloud resembled a dove.

There were signs of Him- of His presence with us all weekend.

FullSizeRender

There are signs of His great love for us everywhere when we are looking for Him

a word of encouragement from a friend

an unwarranted hug from my girls

“I love you” texts from my hubby

smiles from strangers

His steadfast love abounds!

But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.  Psalm 86:15

14 responses to “Signs and wonders

  1. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    Psalm 19:1 “[For the choir director; a psalm by David.] The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky displays what his hands have made.” Gods Word

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kcg1974 says:

    Such a beautiful post. The picture in all its glory, clearing sending God’s message of peace and hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. paulfg says:

    “There are signs of His great love for us everywhere when we are looking for Him…” – and you have an eye always on the lookout! Beautiful!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like a wonderful experience:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Shanda says:

    Oh wow, it gives me chills to see your picture. I love the sound of silence…glad you had such a good time.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lorriebowden says:

    Just beautiful Julie! I am so happy you had such a weekend! I am sure that energy will stay with you for quite a while! Much love ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

