I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Take Me As I Am

on October 16, 2014

FullSizeRender

Your love makes me want to be

the version of me that You see

filtered through the blood of Christ

and sanctified by sacrifice

So take me as I am 

make me something new

take my sins away

make me more like You

may Your will be done

let Your kingdom come

Help me find a better way

Cause I don’t want to throw away

the gift You gave me on the tree

by living my life just for me

You said that we could live like You

but all that I can seem to do

is fail just like I did before

Jesus, I want so much more

I don’t want to wait for heaven

I want fellowship right now

To claim the gift that I’ve been given

Jesus, help me, show me how

take me as I am 

make me something new

take my sins away

make me more like You

may Your will be done

let Your kingdom come

My husband wrote these lyrics and I wrote the music to this song. These words beautifully sum up our response to God’s amazing love. His loves compels us to want to live a life that glorifies Him and honors Him through our every thought, action, and deed- only made possible by seeking Him and living in fellowship with Him.  He takes us just as we are- but, praise God, He doesn’t leave us that way!  He continues to shape and mold us into His likeness-moment by moment.

19 responses to “Take Me As I Am

  1. johncoyote says:

    Beautiful song and positive words. Thank you.

    Like

  2. atimetoshare says:

    Great team effort!

    Like

  3. Amen! Beautiful lyrics:)

    Like

  4. Codi says:

    Beautiful. Can I buy it on iTunes?

    Like

  5. You really do have a great voice. Nice!

    Like

  6. paulfg says:

    “Your love makes me want to be the version of me that You see”

    Beautiful! On the eye, the ear, the head and heart. Thank you.

    Like

  7. Skye says:

    An absolutely beautiful pairing…..as I am sure you two are, as well. Hugs!!

    Like

  8. Codi says:

    Hi I’ve nominated you for the Sisterhood Award. I appreciate how you are spreading Jesus for the world to see. See my post today. 🙂

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thank you, Codi, for the nomination 🙂 It seems that I have missed several of your comments because for some reason they have gone to my “spam” box… I am so sorry for not responding to them sooner. Thank you, again, and I hope you have a wonderful day!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. secretangel says:

    Beautiful… Love your song!

    Like

Leave a Reply

