I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dancing with Jesus

on September 26, 2014
photo 4

The sun streaming through the trees on a recent walk… 

I woke up one morning filled with joy-so much so, that I couldn’t stop smiling!  God had answered a very specific prayer of mine in a very special way. I didn’t call anyone to share the good news- I simply spent the day being quiet with Him- and that made the day all the more special!  Doing ordinary, everyday tasks, I felt His presence with me all day.

You will show me the way of life,
    granting me the joy of your presence
    and the pleasures of living with you forever  Psalm 16:11

I had to drive into town and run a few errands- nothing special- but He was there. I remember there being lots of road work and traffic- things that would normally irritate me- but as I sat there in the car, I felt His hand in mine.  It didn’t matter what I did or where I went, feeling His presence in such a way was the most wonderful thing I could have imagined.  As I was driving home from running errands, I noticed the sunlight glittering through the trees.  I remember exactly where I was on the road when I had this vision…

A picture flashed in my mind. It was instantaneous, and yet it felt like an eternity.  As I drove up the curvy road, I saw a vision of Jesus and I holding hands- standing with our arms extended.  We twirled in circles and danced around like children. Sunlight sparkled all around us and there were flowers everywhere.  And then it was gone. It brought tears to my eyes as I thought about what it will be like to be in heaven, worshipping Him for all eternity.

I told my husband about my experience the next day.  I shared with him how I felt His presence all day, and about catching this glimpse of what heaven might be like.  He smiled at me and said it sounded like I needed to write a song about it… and so I did!

“Dancing With Jesus”

It’s a new day

I’m singing your praises

thankful and grateful for all that you are

Driving around

sun shining down

and I see a vision of 

You and me

Your presence is real

I’m moved in my soul

I grab Your hands

as we sway to and fro

I’m dancing with Jesus

Singing, rejoicing, 

and worshipping Him

I’m dancing with Jesus

I rest in Your arms and I know

You are with me wherever I go…

A moment it was

frozen in time

a glimmer of heaven

and what it might be

Amazing and sweet

feeling complete

I surrender all that I am 

at your feet..

How sweet it will be

when Your face, I see

when I get to heaven

and dance with You there

Forever more

and always I’m Yours

In your presence I will 

forever adore You 

16 responses to “Dancing with Jesus

  1. Inspirational and encouraging – praise God!

    Like

  2. Julie, this is a wonderful song in every regard. You are a gifted lady. Beautiful!!!! Thank you for sharing. Now I have the tune in my head. lol

    Like

  3. popswally says:

    Very warming and drawing! Warms the heart and draws me into the vision He gave you. Thanks for sharing this precious moment, God has used it to touch me and certainly others in a vibrant way! Like Levi, the tune is stuck and that is all good!!! ~R

    Like

  4. paulfg says:

    Lovely – and prompted a thought: every day could be like this if we but allow.

    (and that is not critical – that is me talking about me).

    Thank you – 🙂

    Like

  5. Skye says:

    Absolutely beautiful, sweet Julie!! God truly works through your amazing gifts!!! ❤

    Like

  6. Joan Clapp says:

    Now, I have your song in my heart. I needed this reminder as I try to wait patiently for the results of my tests. Jesus is with me, I know, but sometimes the waiting is so very hard. Thank you , Julie, for sharing your beautiful talents and heart with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

