I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Let me take a selfie

on August 27, 2014
photo 2

Sunrise at OBX

 From the rising of the sun unto the going down of the same the LORD’S name is to be praised.  

Psalm 113:3

As I pulled out my phone and turned on the camera, one of my daughters says, “Mom, they all look the same…”  

“Yeah, they kinda do,” another informs me.  

*sigh*

That got me to thinking about why I take these “same” pictures of the sky scape.  

I guess these pictures look alike because God is unchanging, yet he’s always revealing different aspects of Himself to us.  So in each picture I see a subtle new facet of God’s awesomeness, things we can only notice because of the Holy Spirit that He places inside each one of us.  

And as I look up to heaven, I converse with Him. Pictures are one dimensional and fail to capture the “heart” or the feeling of His presence as I pray, confess, listen…worship, and yes- gaze with wonder at His magnificent creation.  Each picture I take while I’m on a walk is like a God-selfie.  They might all look the same to some, but I can remember the heart to heart I had with Him in each of these moments… 

photo 3

Sunrise at OBX

And let’s face it, (pun intended) when we take all these “selfies” of ourselves, don’t we always look like the same person?  Picture after picture, we may make subtle changes in our appearance, but our true self doesn’t change.  

And while the colors light up the sky, I wait in the quiet to hear Him, and to see Him.  

As a musician, my heart longs for instruments and voices in perfect harmony- but the silence is just as beautiful.  The sky is like His orchestra- clouds and light colliding and forming perfect symphonic pictures…leaving me silenced-

photo 4

Sunset at OBX

 and listening for His voice… and standing in awe- that He would meet me here. Each and every time. Taking these photos is like capturing a glimpse of Him.   

photo 1

Sunset at OBX

They who dwell in the ends of the earth stand in awe of Your signs;

You make the dawn and the sunset shout for joy. – Psalm 65:8 

11 responses to “Let me take a selfie

  1. popswally says:

    Awesome Julie! I would guess that Tracy and I are like you in that we see the differences from sunset to sunset. How God paints with different hues and colors bright or dim. No two are exactly the same and neither are we. Although the sky appears the same to everyone, He speaks individually to us through those sky scapes. How boring would we all be and God too, if everything were the same?
    Thank you for sharing your sights and thoughts as you journey along!
    Blessings and Peace Always, ~R

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      When she said they all looked the same, I began to think about why it is they look so different to me. It’s funny how we take a picture of ourselves and no one will notice that we have had a hair cut or changed some small detail about our appearance… but those who know you well will notice. The more I spend time with Him, the more I see Him… it’s all about relationship! Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment 🙂 Blessings to you!

      Like

  2. deharris2 says:

    THAT WAS AN AWESOME POST. Keep it up, girl!

    Like

  3. paulfg says:

    You connect me through your connection! Thank you.

    Like

  4. I love those shots. Especially the sunrise.

    Like

  5. atimetoshare says:

    What beautiful imagery – a glimpse of God – His majesty is everywhere and I love looking at His artistry in the skies as well.

    Like

  6. I love it, Great Job, I have never seen anything like it. God bless

    Like

Leave a Reply

