I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

You are the One

on August 19, 2014

photo

Well, it feels like yesterday 

I heard a knock upon my door

you caught me by surprise

but I knew what you came for

my heart skipped a beat

in that moment you swept me

off my feet

I knew you were the one

you were the one

So you asked me on a date

and I said I would, I would

And I knew it in my heart

you were good, you were good

And time stood still and He 

showed me you and I were 

meant to be 

I knew you were the one

you were the one

Well, that first date you and I

talked endlessly sitting side by side

we dreamed a thousand dreams

as we bonded over ice cream

we philosophized 

with stars shinning in our eyes

I knew you were the one

you were the one

all I know is I’d 

be a mess

without you by my side

I know you are the one

you are the one

20 years ago today, my husband and I went on our first date.  All the moments of that evening are etched in my memory…in fact, I remember it more clearly than my wedding day.  I remember coming home that night and telling my mom that I was going to marry him someday.  At only 17, her words were “you better wait a while!!!”  

I wrote this song to celebrate our special day…the day The Lord whispered in my heart that he was the one.  

 

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. 1 Corinthians 13:13

6 responses to “You are the One

  1. As always, your song is very beautiful both the lyrics and melody 🙂 thank you for sharing, sis. Blessings.

    Like

  2. How sweet Julie!! 😀

    Like

  3. lorriebowden says:

    I am so so happy for you Julie!!! You love shines through you post, your words, your voice, your smile!!! Congrats!
    Continued Love!! ❤

    Like

  4. vw1212 says:

    beautiful. vw

    Like

Leave a Reply

