I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Sometimes I think He wakes me up

on August 12, 2014

photo

Sometimes I think He wakes me up 

at night

so I will pray

Due to time I failed to give Him

in the light of day

it’s true 

that when we seek His face

in time we’ll surely find

 peace that passes understanding

true calming of the mind

sometimes I think He wakes me up

at night

so I can see 

nothing but His face, His truth, 

His grace, His love for me.

sometimes I think He wakes me up

at night 

for deeper rest

as I worship Him in darkest hours 

in the quiet

I am blessed.

I remember waking in the wee hours of the morning to nurse my crying babies.  Those moments I held my daughters in my arms were so precious… even when I did not get much sleep.  While I know early on they needed to eat more frequently, I know that as they got older, their waking was solely to be comforted by their momma.  

I kept waking up last night…and I think it was solely to go to my Comforter.  I had so much on my mind, and I started doing that “thinking” thing again… you know, “thinking” instead of “praying”?  I found myself wide awake at 4am.  It was actually a wonderful thing.  I prayed and poured my heart out to Him- which is exactly what I should have done the previous evening- and failed to do.  

So this morning, He has reminded me that I am His precious child… and that He wants me to go to Him no matter what time of day it is… and to pray without ceasing.

Rejoice always,  pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.  1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

I find my rest in God alone. He is the One who saves me.  Psalm 62:1

8 responses to “Sometimes I think He wakes me up

  1. Shanda says:

    Beautiful words. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. What a lovely occasion when the Lord wakes you up so He can spend time with you! I’ve had that happen a time or two. I suspect He knows when our hearts are more receptive to Him. 🙂

    Like

  3. paulfg says:

    As a restless sleeper I often wake at silly o’clock and think “why oh why?” So I am sitting here having a normal good day. And then I stumble into:

    “Sometimes I think He wakes me up at night for deeper rest”

    BAM! How do you do that? How do you see something so beautiful where I see only “ughhh”? Thank you! I think I have some very different God O’clocks on the way!! 🙂

    Like

  4. Julie Harris says:

    When I was wide awake at 4am, I remembered how my babies used to wake me up and how exhausted I was… and yet it was a blessing to see that they needed me- to feed them, rock them, comfort them… and He put the idea in my head that I needed Him-just like my babies needed me in the wee hours of the morning. Wouldn’t it be lovely to crawl up in His lap and have Him rock us to sleep? It amazes me how when I turn to Him, He gives me everything I need. Every time. I love your word God O’clock- time is in His hands. Every time is God time 🙂

    Like

  5. T says:

    beautiful post ❤

    Like

  6. Skye says:

    Oh, Julie, I love this. I wake often early and start to do the thinking then. I find it happens when I have neglected my time with Him the day before, too. He truly is a relationship-wanting God!! I think He misses us when we don’t check in. I know I sure miss Him when I do not. Great thoughts, as always!! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

