I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Light Finds Us

on July 3, 2014

IMG_1402

darkness closes in

even so, the light finds us

and never burns out

What a comfort to know that no matter where we are, or how dark our sky gets- His Spirit is always there. As the girls and I drove through a terrible storm last night, all I could do was pray and sing with all my might.  I thought of pulling over, but felt Him nudging me to keep on going.  I sang as I drove…

“I love You, Lord… and I lift my voice… to worship You, O my soul, rejoice!  Take joy my King in what You hear.  May it be a sweet, sweet sound in Your ear.”

It’s when we can’t see the light that our faith is made the strongest.  He is the maker of Heaven and Earth, the Creator of darkness and light…and He knows the depths of our hearts- and our every need. There are times when we may feel vulnerable and afraid, but in our heart we can find peace and rest when we worship Him.

Where can I go from your Spirit?

Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there;

if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

If I rise on the wings of the dawn,

if I settle on the far side of the sea,

even there your hand will guide me,

your right hand will hold me fast.

If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me

and the light become night around me,”

even the darkness will not be dark to you;

the night will shine like the day,

for darkness is as light to you.

Psalm 139

16 responses to “Light Finds Us

  1. paulfg says:

    “but felt Him nudging me to keep on going” – now that is beautiful.

    So often I would be so wrapped up in what was outside and in front – He could have given me full blown slap on the cheeks – and I wouldn’t notice! Learning (again and again!) 🙂

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Lol! I am learning…slowly but surely! As we drove home last night, my youngest was crying and saying she didn’t want to die. There were branches swirling everywhere, lightning, hail…all I could do was keep calm, keep my eyes on the road, and sing- LOUD! Walking with Him is an awesome journey, isn’t it 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ve come back to this post three or four times in the last couple of hours – I just love it!

    Like

  3. Elaine says:

    Very true! Glad you are safe!

    Like

  4. Skye says:

    I am so glad you are safe, Dear Friend. I love that song….it is one of my favorites!!!! Hugs sent your way!! 🙂

    Like

  5. I love that song you were singing! Such a great one.

    Like

  6. Love this, Julie. I’ve prayed while driving through rain, in tears, in all kinds of other things that were stressful. Good thing we can talk to Him, rejoice in singing, and pray in every kind of moment. True thankfulness.
    Bless you.

    Like

  7. vw1212 says:

    Amazing scripture; very powerful in impact. vw

    Like

  8. Julie Harris says:

    Thanks so much for your encouragement, vw!

    Like

Leave a Reply

